Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
cant get UT to install
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rommel
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 1140
Location: Williamsburg Virginia

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2002 9:26 pm    Post subject: cant get UT to install Reply with quote

when i run the ut-install-goty 436 sh it asks for cd one but its in the drive already....i click yes and in the konsole it keeps mounting and unmounting the drive but it is though it cant find or access it ...anyone know what might be preventing this from working?...i really want to paly this game aagain...heeeelp

ciao
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FINITE
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 May 2002
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2002 11:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mount the drive first (make sure disc is in there) then run the installer. I think thats the way I was doing it in mandrake. Havn't installed it yet in gentoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
war_pig
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 May 2002
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2002 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

having the same trouble myself

read somewhere to day if theres more than 1 /dev/cdrom/cdrom0, ie, if you have another cdrom or dvd drive or something, it wont work, which means either delete the other device node, or unplug the ide cable from the second cdrom (if what i read was true) and then try the installer

havent done it yet myself, cause im too lazy, but who knows...
_________________
no signature available here
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rommel
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 1140
Location: Williamsburg Virginia

PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2002 2:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well i tried both of your suggestions but it still stops at the same point...the installer begins to run then at ut.ini it asks that cd one be mounted and unmounts the cdrom itself....i dont get it

edit: ok i think i have found what i have done wrong...i am recompiling the kernel to enable joliet extensions....so after that i let you know if it works...but check your kernel config if you having the same problem

well that fixed it ...runs great...duuupe user error again
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FINITE
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 May 2002
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2002 3:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey cool glad to hear it. Will check kernel config and make sure. Thanks for posting how you fixed it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum