Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Anybody tried portage on Tiger yet?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo for Mac OS X (Portage for Mac OS X)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
arnaudsj
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Aug 2004
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 2:35 am    Post subject: Anybody tried portage on Tiger yet? Reply with quote

Hi,

With Tiger a few days away from being released (actually some lucky ones have reported that they already received their copy in the mail, but some mistake of MacMall and others :). I wondered if anybody had a chance to test and see what Portage does on this new version. I recon that the python version that ships with Tiger is 2.3.5, and that gcc defaults to 4.0 (with 3.3 still avail as well). Also, I am not sure the same portage profile can be used for Tiger....

Any brave(&lucky) soul out there?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CrimsonScythe
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Sep 2002
Posts: 83
Location: Minneapolis, MN

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't say that I've had too much luck so far. Maybe I should narrow down that statement a little: I haven't had too much luck yet, using GCC 4.0. I had to switch the default GCC in order to manage to install some programs. Maybe I'm just unlucky since I've not reinstalled portage, but just relinked the make.profile file. :)
_________________
If we weren't supposed to eat animals, then why are they made of meat?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sapo_selo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Posts: 26
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2005 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

for now i haven't been lucky with the gentoo on tiger... i get a lot of erros and can't do nothing, maybe it's needed another installer for tiger... :cry:
_________________
Não há luz mas vê-se uma grande escuridão =P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
watersb
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Sep 2002
Posts: 287
Location: where the hell is Tesuque, New Mexico?

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2005 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used Gentoo on Tiger all throughout the beta cycle for Tiger...

There are some things which require some work, but in general I can get things to build.

Not sure that's a specific answer, but yeah, it basically works for me.

I have a really great co-worker who has built a lot of packages for Tiger via DarwinPorts, so I spent today trying to learn that system. After becoming proficient in Gentoo portage, it is a bit painful to use something else!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rm
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Oct 2004
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2005 7:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just installed portage on tiger on a new machine. Had to mask out sys-libs/readline in package.mask before "emerge system" would work.
I've been using gentoo x86 for over a year now as my only system. And it's hands down the best software management system there is, I do not use it because it's source based, that just a bonus, a really nice one though.
On tiger, compiling stuff, mmm ... not so lucky.

But what strikes me most is that (almost) everything is masked.

One question, what architecture should I use in package.keywords,
should it be:
Code:
media-video/mplayer ppc

or should it be:
Code:
media-video/mplayer ppc-macos


not so clear for me at this moment,
because the former starts (!!) compiling but does not end, but the latter exists, but does not work (masked packages).
Maybe I have an error somewhere in my setup?

thx,
roel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BennyP
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 497
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2005 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you need to use ppc-macos
typically it goes like this
Code:
sudo ekeyword ppc-macos /absolute/path/to/package.ebuild
sudo emerge package

_________________
Could it be?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elguapo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 May 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2005 2:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rm wrote:
I just installed portage on tiger on a new machine. Had to mask out sys-libs/readline in package.mask before "emerge system" would work.


Hello, I'm new to gentoo (and portage) I'm having the exact same problem. Most places online seem to think that trying to unmask a hard masked package isn't a good idea. I got around the problem of the keyword mask, but need a bit of help on this step. Thanks in advance!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo for Mac OS X (Portage for Mac OS X) All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum