how to rebuild packages?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
photonn
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Feb 26, 2003 9:27 pm    Post subject: how to rebuild packages? Reply with quote

I must start by saying I am a gentoo noob.

I just spent the last two days building from stage1. I have one on of those VIA EPIA-M motherboards with the VIA C3/Ezra processors on it. So, I was interested in building from scratch to get the processor support correct. Also, I used the ac-sources kernel as this has Alan Cox's patches to support the chipset used on this board.

But on to my problem. For some reason, the /etc/make.conf file I created during the install was not persisted/saved after installation. I noticed this during my first emerge after booting the system for the first time. I could tell something was wrong because I saw -m686 flying all over the screen as WindowMaker was compiling.

After WMaker emerged, I checked /etc/make.conf and found:
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
when I know that I set it to i586 during the install. Worse still, I need 586 because the VIA chip does not fully support the 686 instruction set!

So, my question is this: How do I rebuild WindowMaker (and all the stuff that it depended on and installed at the same time) with my corrected (586) /etc/make.conf?

It is an interesting general question anyway. Let's say I change my USE="" significantly, and I want that change to ripple through all the installed stuff. How do you update the system to reflect changes in the /etc/make.conf ???
pjp
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Wed Feb 26, 2003 9:55 pm    Post subject: Re: how to rebuild packages? Reply with quote

photonn wrote:
So, my question is this: How do I rebuild WindowMaker (and all the stuff that it depended on and installed at the same time) with my corrected (586) /etc/make.conf?