View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Ezzy125
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2005 5:32 pm    Post subject: KDE 3.3 hangs after installing Radeon driver Reply with quote

Since I'm a newbie I got locked up in a nasty situation. After spending the whole weekend behind the PC, I was able to install gentoo-2.6.11-r3 fine. Got KDE to work with a VESA driver. Than I thought let's update my video driver for the real one. I have Radeon X300 video adapter.

I used the following guide; http://odin.prohosting.com/wedge01/gentoo-radeon-faq.html#2_kernelopts

After re-compiling my kernel and steps above I rebooted the system. Since than my KDE desktops starts does the first steps but than hangs with "Loading the panel 0%". Mouse is working but the system doesn't react on anything...

Please help, I'm completely lost now?

Thx
dusdus
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your system hangs...but does it respond to Alt+Control+Backspace? It should shut down the X-server. You could check Xorg.log for any error messages, or you can even try "startx > error.log" to get some messages in a file instead of on your screen.

You could also try to uninstall your ati-drivers to get X working, try to get a solution for your problem and get the radeon driver active again.

good luck
atom.galaxy
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Helo!??? It's not X that's the problem here :D

If it gets stuck at loading the panel, it's definitely KDE's fault.

1) etc-update
run etc-update, it might be a config file. Although... I don't think it's highly probable.
2) revdep-rebuild
Try running revdep-rebuild (from the gentoolkit package: emerge gentoolkit), it might be a broken dependency.
3)re-emerge KDE