Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
acroread 7?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
paladin-zero
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 322

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hardcore wrote:
paladin-zero wrote:
I have a rookie question: how do I unmerge acroread-5.10 if version 7 is already installed?



Code:
emerge -C =app-text/acroread-5.10


I tried that:

Code:
--- Couldn't find =app-text/acroread-5.10 to unmerge.

>>> unmerge: No packages selected for removal.


but version 5 is definitely still installed. I guess portage believes it is not installed, is it safe to delete the Acroread5 folders from /usr/local?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
radfoj
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 490
Location: Tísek, Czech Republic

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
# emerge -C -pv acroread

will show you, what version you have instaled by portage

in my opinion, portage put acrobat to /opt/Acrobat5 or /opt/Acrobat7, so maybe you instaled version 5 other way

also I though, that acroread is not slotted, so emerging v7 will automaticly remove version5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paladin-zero
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 322

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're right, I must have installed it from a tarball instead of portage (back when I first got started with gentoo).:oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jasewong
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Posts: 11
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thx guys, i can get acrobat working in firefox.

just 1 more thing however, when i install additional extensions to firefox, acrobat refuse to work again... i have either opened too many tabs (8 might be on start up???) or i have installed too many exts?? surely, if i remove the .mozilla and start from the beginning acrobat will work.

:?:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yaneurabeya
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 May 2004
Posts: 1754
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fails for me when I try and load a pdf :(... Maybe I'll have to downgrade (arg).

Code:
bash-2.05b$ firefox
No running windows found
Launching a SCIM daemon with Socket FrontEnd...
Loading -d Config module ...
Creating backend ...
Loading socket FrontEnd module ...
Starting SCIM as daemon ...
GTK Panel of SCIM 1.2.0


(acroread:10285): Gtk-WARNING **: GModule initialization check failed: Gtk+ version too old (micro mismatch)

(acroread:10285): Gtk-WARNING **: GModule initialization check failed: Gtk+ version too old (micro mismatch)

(acroread:10285): Gtk-WARNING **: GModule initialization check failed: Gtk+ version too old (micro mismatch)

(acroread:10285): Gtk-WARNING **: GModule initialization check failed: Gtk+ version too old (micro mismatch)


Relevant versions:
Code:
*  app-text/acroread
      Latest version available: 5.10
      Latest version installed: 5.10
      Size of downloaded files: 9,068 kB
      Homepage:    http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/
      Description: Adobe's PDF reader
      License:     Adobe

*  media-fonts/acroread-asianfonts
      Latest version available: 20020815
      Latest version installed: 20020815
      Size of downloaded files: 32,060 kB
      Homepage:    http://www.adobe.com/prodindex/acrobat/readstep.html
      Description: Asian Font Packs for Acrobat Reader 5.0
      License:     Adobe


[ Results for search key : mozilla-firefox ]
[ Applications found : 1 ]

*  www-client/mozilla-firefox
      Latest version available: 1.0.2
      Latest version installed: 1.0.2
      Size of downloaded files: 31,992 kB
      Homepage:    http://www.mozilla.org/projects/firefox/
      Description: The Mozilla Firefox Web Browser
      License:     MPL-1.1 NPL-1.1


And I did use the gtk+2.4.9 trick mentioned prior to this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Schnacki
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hardcore wrote:

I can confirm that this works, although I had to slightly edit it:

Code:
ebuild /usr/portage/x11-libs/gtk+/gtk+-2.4.9-r2.ebuild install


-r1 didn't compile, r2 did however, and now the plugin works.


THANK you! I don't know why I didn't try this myself, but as nobody else seemed to have problems with -r1 I just assumed it's an error on my side.

Now I finally have a featurecomplete PDF-Plugin in FF. Finally! And with a distinctly more akzeptable gui, too.

Ciao, Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yaneurabeya
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 May 2004
Posts: 1754
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, the Acroread program doesn't come up at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gungholady
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Oct 2003
Posts: 392

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I never could get version 7 working on my system. I tried everything here. Have masked version 7 and gone back to version 5.10 that works properly. Version 7 does not work correctly on my husband's windows xp system either. So I know it is not just a linux problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
totencham
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Dec 2004
Posts: 299
Location: Szczecin, Poland

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After trying acroread I claimed, that kpdf doesn't need to be replaced by any other program.
_________________
http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Index
cd /usr/src/linux && egrep -ir "( fuck)|( shit)" *
Linux registered user #376896
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
plate
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Jul 2002
Posts: 1663
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yaneurabeya: Same here. Looking at your earlier error, I'm tempted to blame scim (which I have a history of other trouble with). :? Have you filed a bug report about this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yaneurabeya
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 May 2004
Posts: 1754
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I did actually. SCIM seems to screw up more junk than it's worth-which is sad since it's the best working IME available for Linux right now :(...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gauss_Cleric
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there...

Following the instructions from this topic I've managed to get acroread 7 working perfectly in my system (including the firefox plug-in). Strange enough, I get the following when I try to open this file:http://www.math.uio.no/~bratteli/bratrob/VOL-2S~1.PDF

Code:
Could not open the file: the root object is missing or invalid.


The thing is that the file is OK, you can open up in acroread 5 or kpdf. I think it's a bug. Did you guys happen to get something similar with another file?

The file for wich I get this error has nothing especial in it (no form, no slide, no multimedia content, only text and hiperlinks).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yaneurabeya
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 May 2004
Posts: 1754
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm downgrading since it seems like version 7 is really buggy still...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
juniper
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Oct 2004
Posts: 759
Location: EU

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i noticed that acroread 7 has a great new feature of commenting, but you need acrobat in order to enable this in a pdf doc. is there a linux way to do this?

j
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yaneurabeya
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 May 2004
Posts: 1754
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 3:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

juniper wrote:
i noticed that acroread 7 has a great new feature of commenting, but you need acrobat in order to enable this in a pdf doc. is there a linux way to do this?

j


Commenting's been around since acrobat 6 I think... Or at least my TA's are commenting my homework with different versions than what's available in the computer labs here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Benjamin1
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Aug 2003
Posts: 98

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried the solutions in this thread (emerging old gtk, changing the acroread script) but again, the plugin does still not work. Any solutions?

thanks
This were the error messages which came up:
Code:
/opt/Acrobat7/Reader/intellinux/bin/acroread: error while loading shared libraries: libBIB.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
/opt/Acrobat7/Reader/intellinux/bin/acroread: error while loading shared libraries: libBIB.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
/opt/Acrobat7/Reader/intellinux/bin/acroread: error while loading shared libraries: libBIB.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
/opt/Acrobat7/Reader/intellinux/bin/acroread: error while loading shared libraries: libBIB.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
/opt/Acrobat7/Reader/intellinux/bin/acroread: error while loading shared libraries: libBIB.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
/opt/Acrobat7/Reader/intellinux/bin/acroread: error while loading shared libraries: libBIB.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Benjamin1
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Aug 2003
Posts: 98

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The fix worked.
I had additionally to copy (or symlink) all files in the /lib directory to the /gui directory
now it works perfectly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
revertex
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Apr 2003
Posts: 806

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

paladin-zero wrote:
hardcore wrote:
paladin-zero wrote:
I have a rookie question: how do I unmerge acroread-5.10 if version 7 is already installed?



Code:
emerge -C =app-text/acroread-5.10


I tried that:

Code:
--- Couldn't find =app-text/acroread-5.10 to unmerge.

>>> unmerge: No packages selected for removal.


but version 5 is definitely still installed. I guess portage believes it is not installed, is it safe to delete the Acroread5 folders from /usr/local?


Code:
emerge -P acroread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lindegur
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Aug 2004
Posts: 257
Location: Swiss mountains

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I installed Acrobat 7.0 rpm with KPackage. As it seem to be normal with gentoo and Kpackage, they do not work so easy together. Gentoo uses links to lib and Kpackage does not accept those, so the dependency check fails. Just install without dependency check.

Then you get the next error PPKlib.api fails. You can simply rename it to PPKlib.apidontdoit and it works fine. The real problem is that this api wants to have emerge openldap to be happy.

Don't kwow how to find this, except googling on the internet for PPKLite.api. :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rwfranz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Feb 2004
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2005 3:34 am    Post subject: Acrobat 7.0 and Firefox. Reply with quote

Acrobat 7 and Firefox -

Before this last Tuesday, Firefox would not launch Acrobat Readerplugin (v7). I could change settings, you name it. It wouldn't work.

I recompiled the entire system and cleaned it up a bit. (emerge -e system; emerge kde-meta)

In order to emerge kde-meta, I had to unmerge a rather large number of KDE 3.2 and KDE 3.3 files.

But now, Firefox launches Acrobat Reader plugin. I didn't touch Firefox, or Acrobat reader, during the compile.

[scratching head]

So I still don't know what was causing the issue, maybe a mismatch of some kind in KDE?

But it works, now.
_________________
Live large.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
soigres
l33t
l33t


Joined: 09 Dec 2004
Posts: 648
Location: Milano, Italy

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

does xpdf support the mouse scrool wheel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
azp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 354
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2006 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

soigres wrote:
does xpdf support the mouse scrooll wheel?
'

Yes it does, I'm using it.
_________________
Weeks of coding can save you hours of planning.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
azp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 354
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2006 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anyobody else experienced a massive slowdown in starting the newest version of Acrobat Reader 7? It's always been pretty slow (compared to xpdf and such) and used to take about 15-20 seconds to start. Now I'm up to:
Quote:
>time acroread
real 0m53.968s
user 0m46.167s
sys 0m0.720s


This is, as you might understand, painful to wait for. I've had problems with massive fragmentation on my ReiserFS disk, but repartitioned my HDD yesterday, changing parts of it to ext3 and did the copy/reformat/copy-routine on the ReiserFS disk. It solved other speed issues (like very long emerge --sync time) but this issue is still with me. Haven't seen any post about it on the forum. I know that Reader5 was pretty slow and right out ugly, but Reader7 has treated me better so far (until a month ago).
My packages are:
Quote:
* app-text/acroread-7.0.5-r1


I think it was the upgrade to 7.0.5 from 7.0.1 that caused it to slow down.. Anyone else experiencing this problem?
_________________
Weeks of coding can save you hours of planning.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
morfik
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Nov 2004
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2006 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I have the same problem with acroread-7.0.5-r1.
There is some disk work at the beginnig, when I start it for the first time,
then I does something (process load at 100% ) for aprox. one minute.
And finaly it running without problem.
I've found on inet, that this version send info when you read some document.
It use HTTP and std. port 80, and I have HTTP acces just through proxy
so first time, I think there is the problem.
Is it possible in your case?

Other question: what do you know about defragentation of linux FS
(I'm on ext3)? As my portage operation are VERY slow. I have slow disk,
I know, but It seems to be worth as the time comes.
Some one said me that reiser is better for the lot of small files (i.e. for portage tree)
Do you think so too?

Thanks, Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrFaber
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 17
Location: Como, Italy

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2006 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

azp wrote:
Has anyobody else experienced a massive slowdown in starting the newest version of Acrobat Reader 7?

[cut]

I think it was the upgrade to 7.0.5 from 7.0.1 that caused it to slow down.. Anyone else experiencing this problem?

Me, acroread takes over 2 minutes to start... :-(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 5 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum