Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Why didn't revdep-rebuild rebuild Qt?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Zarhan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Posts: 994

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2005 8:39 am    Post subject: Why didn't revdep-rebuild rebuild Qt? Reply with quote

I've been upgrading to KDE 3.4. Now, before starting the KDE upgrade, I ran "emerge world", and the result was that a new version of glibc was pulled in. This broke Qt in some way, for now emerging KDE packages gives

Code:

checking for Qt... configure: error: Qt (>= Qt 3.3) (library qt-mt) not found. Please check your installation!
For more details about this problem, look at the end of config.log.
Make sure that you have compiled Qt with thread support!


Re-emerging Qt fixed the problem.

However, the question is: I ran revdep-rebuild after emerging world. Why did the revdep-rebuild not detect that Qt was broken and re-emerge it automatically? I thought revdep-rebuild was specifically the tool that allows Gentoo to avoid broken library problems! Now I more or less did the re-emerging of Qt out on whim because I did not really know if anything was wrong with that (I mean, I still could start KDE 3.3 just fine!).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KsE
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Mar 2003
Posts: 269
Location: St. Cloud, MN

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2005 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It probably wasn't "broken". The libs were probably still linked ok.

Another good tool for fixing thing is "emerge -pvuD --newuse world". This fixes a lot of problems too.

revdep-rebuild is a great tool. If this is a bug of some sort, I'd really like to know also.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thechris
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Oct 2003
Posts: 1203

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 7:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge -pvuD world does not fix this bug. i got this bug when using said command. I guess now i just have to re-emerge qt.
_________________
HW problems. It's a VIA thing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KsE
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Mar 2003
Posts: 269
Location: St. Cloud, MN

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, keep in mind the "--newuse" arg in there. That will rebuild all packages where use flags have changed. This will usually fix a lot of problems. You could also try "revdep-rebuild -pv".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zarhan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Posts: 994

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

KsE, you should know that my standard upgrade procedure is

Code:

emerge sync
emerge -uvDa --newuse world
emerge depclean
revdep-rebuild


And Qt did not get rebuilt after glibc upgrade, but KDE 3.4 complains about it nevertheless. All I'm looking for is an answer why revdep-rebuild does not detect the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KsE
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Mar 2003
Posts: 269
Location: St. Cloud, MN

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 3:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's how everyone should do it :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cylgalad
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Apr 2003
Posts: 1327
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's a configure/compilation time problem, I got the same sort of error with the updates of baghira & amarok here's the error in the config.log for baghira-0.6e :
Code:
configure:29500: checking for Qt
configure: 29568: /usr/qt/3/include/qstyle.h
taking that
configure:29683: rm -rf SunWS_cache; i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++ -o conftest -Wnon-vir
tual-dtor -Wno-long-long -Wundef -ansi -D_XOPEN_SOURCE=500 -D_BSD_SOURCE -Wcast-
align -Wconversion -Wchar-subscripts -Wall -W -Wpointer-arith -Wwrite-strings -D
NDEBUG -DNO_DEBUG -O2 -march=athlon-xp -mcpu=athlon-xp -mmmx -m3dnow -msse -mfpm
ath=sse -fforce-addr -fomit-frame-pointer -O3 -pipe -Wformat-security -Wmissing-
format-attribute -fno-exceptions -fno-check-new -fno-common -I/usr/qt/3/include
-I.  -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT  -D_REENTRANT  -L/usr/qt/3/lib -L/usr/lib     conftest.
cc  -lqt-mt -lpng -lz -lm -ljpeg -ldl  -lXext -lX11 -lSM -lICE  -lpthread 1>&5
/usr/qt/3/lib/libqt-mt.so: undefined reference to `__pthread_register_cancel@GLI
BC_2.3.3'
/usr/qt/3/lib/libqt-mt.so: undefined reference to `__pthread_unregister_cancel@G
LIBC_2.3.3'

Now I'm gonna rebuild qt :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ahood
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 May 2004
Posts: 8
Location: ENGLAND

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had same problem with kaffine and rebuilding qt-3.3.4-r2 has solved the problem. Thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum