Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2.6.11-nitro1 "Chicks dig it!"
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Benson
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Feb 2004
Posts: 156
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@alex: try this one:
Code:
ln -s /usr/share/fonts/TTF/luxisri.ttf /etc/splash/


Maybe i missed this one, just found that i have made this symlink recently but can't remember if this was after emerging the masked splashutils. Please report if this solves the problem, then i'll add it in my previous post.

rgds
Benson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pifactorial
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 77
Location: 3<x<4 on the gamma function

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 1:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Benson wrote:
To get gensplash working again, you need the newest splashutils (1.1.9.1 as mentioned before. Then you need to do 3 things:

1.) create /var/cache/splash/tmp/
2.) You have to recreate your splashimage again. e.g. if you use the default emergence theme and want 1280x1024 resolution, do:
Code:
splash_geninitramfs -v -g /boot/fbsplash-emergence-1280x1024 -r 1280x1024 emergence

3.) As pointed out when emerging the splashutils, you have to make some modifications to your grub.conf(or lilo.conf if you use LILO), after that it should look like this:
splashutils-1.1.9.1.ebuild wrote:
splash=silent,fadein,tty:8,theme:emergence quiet CONSOLE=/dev/tty1

Note the CONSOLE=/dev/tty1 at the end of the line, if you want to see something on console1 you need this option!!!


Hope this helps you to get your gensplash back. Only thing i don't know about is the fadein-option, as i cannot see anything fading in... Anyway, at least it's back again! :wink:

rgds
Benson

Ugh! My bootup is so busted! (On the plus side, everything else seems to be running smoothly). Firstly, the splash doesn't display, and my entire screen is shifted 1/3 up (so the bottom 1/3 of the screen is blank). When the bootup indicators show up (i.e. "[OK]"), some of the OK's are split, so the "K]" appears on the next line. Then, halfway through the boot process, the splash does show up, but shifted 2/3 up the screen (the screen is now 1/3 splash, 1/3 console, 1/3 blank). The progress bar moves properly, but is too far to the right.

Does that make sense? Any ideas?

Oh yeah, and I did everything you suggested.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
allex87
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Aug 2003
Posts: 154
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 3:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Benson wrote:
@alex: try this one:
Code:
ln -s /usr/share/fonts/TTF/luxisri.ttf /etc/splash/


Maybe i missed this one, just found that i have made this symlink recently but can't remember if this was after emerging the masked splashutils. Please report if this solves the problem, then i'll add it in my previous post.

rgds
Benson


What that does is it just makes fbsplash actually show the Booting the system, F2 message... But the silent bootsplash only kicks in after Caching service dependencies... If I press F2, I get back to a black framebuffer console (nromal console) only then towards the end of the boot process fbsplash makes the consoles have a splash image and all that...

So what's up with that? :S really weird...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
allex87
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Aug 2003
Posts: 154
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another quick thought... what does the tty:8 option do? Is it to make 8 ttys with the splash, or is it to show the splash on the 8th tty?


Alex.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pifactorial
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 77
Location: 3<x<4 on the gamma function

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 5:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok just wanted to clarify my description - parts of it were inaccurate:
pifactorial wrote:
Firstly, the splash doesn't display, and my entire screen is shifted 1/3 up (so the bottom 1/3 of the screen is blank). When the bootup indicators show up (i.e. "[OK]"), some of the OK's are split, so the "K]" appears on the next line.

Everything displays normally (except no framebuffer image) until the splash appears, halfway through the boot. Then, after I press F2, I start to get the symptoms above. The "[ ok ]"'s actually show up as "[ \nok ]", not "[O\nK]", and this only happens up to "Setting System Clock to Hardware Clock" (after that the ok's display normally).
pifactorial wrote:
(the screen is now 1/3 splash, 1/3 console, 1/3 blank)

When the splash appears, the screen is actually 1/3 splash, 2/3 console. When I press F2, it becomes 2/3 console, 1/3 blank.

Man, I hope this gets fixed. :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pifactorial
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 77
Location: 3<x<4 on the gamma function

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 6:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ARRGH! Twice now, this kernel has "soft locked" on me while using Firefox with high CPU usage. By that, I mean background processes keep running, and my mouse will still move, but the screen (except for the mouse pointer) is frozen, and the keyboard/mouse buttons won't respond. The previous (nitro0) kernel would hardlock in the same situation, so I guess this is an improvement, but it's sooooo irritating. 8O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fifthcent
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 7:23 am    Post subject: fbsplash Reply with quote

I got the fbsplash to work for the most part.

A couple of notes:
* I think the fadein option was causing some discolorations when the fb first came up. Remove it seemed to fix that.
* I'm used genkernel, and the initrd ends up printing stuff to the stdout at some point on top of the fbsplash... which isn't pretty.
* After that, the fbsplash works wonderfully.

So, does anyone have suggestions about the genkernel initrd's output, aside from not using it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phlogiston
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 1925
Location: Europe, Swizerland

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

seppe wrote:
Gentree wrote:
This may be obvious once you know , but how do I select which IO scheduler I use?
I have all three selected in kernel config.

To choose IO schedulers at boot time, use the argument 'elevator=deadline' for example in your boot manager right after the part where you point to your kernel image. To choose it at runtime do something like
Code:

echo "deadline" > /sys/block/hda/queue/scheduler

To get a list of supported IO schedulers, you can do this:
Code:

Helios proc # cat /sys/block/hda/queue/scheduler
noop anticipatory deadline [cfq]

The one between [ and ] is the active one.

Greetz ;)


Hmm, why has this to do with the hard drive? (hda, sda) I'm confused, I thought that this has to do with the cpu? And if not is it possible to change this for every drive? hda, hdb, sda?

/edit: I got it... this is the IO sheduler... Sorry for this stupid question, is it also pissible to change the cpu sheduler like this? I don't think so... And is there any more info about the IO shedulers? Benchmarks? Or when should I use which sheduler? Pros and cons of the different ones?

Thanks for some answers
_________________
Workstation: 5.1 SurroundSound, LIRC remote control; Laptop [IBM-T43]: patched sources, s2disk/ram, fingerprint sensor


Last edited by Phlogiston on Thu Mar 17, 2005 9:52 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phlogiston
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 1925
Location: Europe, Swizerland

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pifactorial wrote:
ARRGH! Twice now, this kernel has "soft locked" on me while using Firefox with high CPU usage. By that, I mean background processes keep running, and my mouse will still move, but the screen (except for the mouse pointer) is frozen, and the keyboard/mouse buttons won't respond. The previous (nitro0) kernel would hardlock in the same situation, so I guess this is an improvement, but it's sooooo irritating. 8O


same here... any hints? Or has this to do with the sheduler?
_________________
Workstation: 5.1 SurroundSound, LIRC remote control; Laptop [IBM-T43]: patched sources, s2disk/ram, fingerprint sensor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Morimando
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Feb 2005
Posts: 339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One question to darckness:
Would it have been possible to make nvidia/ati built-in depend on use-flags? I think it would have saved you from all that talking shit, if it was possible. Hm but i guess you already thought about it..
_________________
That young girl is one of the least benightedly unintelligent organic life forms it has been my profound lack of pleasure not to be able to avoid meeting.
-- Marvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
discomfitor
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 927
Location: None

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Morimando:
Dave Turner via RT" <licensing@fsf.org> wrote:
Unfortunately, yes. You can't combine GPL code with proprietary code.
Proprietary kernel modules violate the GPL.
Unless ati/nvidia relicense their drivers, there is no way that I can put them back into nitro at this time.
_________________
There is no substitute for experience.
Imperfection indicates a lack of effort.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Morimando
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Feb 2005
Posts: 339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darckness wrote:
Morimando:
Dave Turner via RT" <licensing@fsf.org> wrote:
Unfortunately, yes. You can't combine GPL code with proprietary code.
Proprietary kernel modules violate the GPL.
Unless ati/nvidia relicense their drivers, there is no way that I can put them back into nitro at this time.

Oh man that sucks.. the idea was just great :) i hope you keep up the good work and those cool ideas of yours despite that trash with those drivers!
_________________
That young girl is one of the least benightedly unintelligent organic life forms it has been my profound lack of pleasure not to be able to avoid meeting.
-- Marvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
purplerhino
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Jul 2002
Posts: 90
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 4:59 pm    Post subject: CIFS lock ups Reply with quote

anybody else having hard lockups transfering large files to a network share mounted with CIFS? :x
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
discomfitor
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 927
Location: None

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2005 4:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

WOOOOOOOOO!!! We've got a new home!!

Thanks mods! :)
_________________
There is no substitute for experience.
Imperfection indicates a lack of effort.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LucaSpiller
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Sep 2004
Posts: 188
Location: Censorship Land (aka England)

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2005 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think splashutils may be hard masked for a reason.

Now my splash screen has text appearing over it, then when it gets to run level 3 it scrolls up with the text. :x Lets not forget the hard locking when it starts numlock... :evil:

grub.conf line:
Code:
kernel /kernel-2.6.11-nitro1 root=/dev/hdb8 resume2=swap:/dev/hdb5 video=vesafb:ywrap,pmipal,1280x1024-16@60 splash=silent,theme:emergence,tty:8 CONSOLE=/dev/tty1
initrd /boot/fbsplash-emergence-1280x1024

It also says that the CONSOLE section is wrong. :roll:

I have got the Nvidia drivers working fine - you just have to unmask the latest versions by added the following to your /etc/portage/package.keywords:
Code:
media-video/nvidia-glx ~x86
media-video/nvidia-kernel ~x86

I don't think the second line is needed if you are using the modules built into the kernel.

Lastly, is there an easy way to have the kernel name appear on the output of "uname -a"?
_________________
:: Luca :: Mac Fag :: Original Macbook, 2g RAM :: Closet Linux user (seasoned with salt and pepper) :: C2D E4400 @ 2ghz, 4g RAM (only 3.2g detected under 64bit...), Nvidia 9600GSO ::
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brantgurga
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Dec 2003
Posts: 75
Location: Indianapolis, IN

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2005 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

brantgurga wrote:
Is there anything that could be slowing me down with this kernel? The initial mount of /dev/hda4 (reiser4) is taking longer than usual and I/O in general seems slower than usual.


My hard drive was failing so that solved that issue. The only other issue is whether the 1GB Lowmem patch is working properly. I have 1GB memory = 1024 MB. dmesg output indicates 1023MB lowmem though. Is that right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dushkin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Apr 2004
Posts: 94
Location: Your network

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2005 1:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kimchi_sg wrote:
Darckness wrote:
If you want rice, go to the supermarket.

That makes my "quote of the day" list! :lol:

Well, you can always ask your neighbor for some rice, can't you? ;)
_________________
http://www.dushkin.org/ - Think different!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John5788
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 2099
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2005 4:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dushkin wrote:
kimchi_sg wrote:
Darckness wrote:
If you want rice, go to the supermarket.

That makes my "quote of the day" list! :lol:

Well, you can always ask your neighbor for some rice, can't you? ;)


especially if theyre asian
_________________
John5788
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5233
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2005 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I cant burn CDs with this kernel.

I've tried gnomebaker xcdroast and k3b

Here's the debug output from k3b:

Code:
Turning BURN-Free on
Starting new track at sector: 0
Track 01:    0 of  462 MB written.
/usr/bin/cdrecord: Input/output error. write_g1: scsi sendcmd: no error
CDB:  2A 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 1F 00
status: 0x2 (CHECK CONDITION)
Sense Bytes: 70 00 04 02 D3 00 FE 0E 26 01 30 E6 08 01 00 00
Sense Key: 0x4 Hardware Error, Segment 0
Sense Code: 0x08 Qual 0x01 (logical unit communication time-out) Fru 0x0
Sense flags: Blk 47382782 (not valid)
cmd finished after 2.132s timeout 40s
/usr/bin/cdrecord: A write error occured.


read device is a real SCSI cdrom device , burner is a DVD burner on ide-scsi.


I just rebooted to 2.6.9-nitro1 and I have a perfect burn first time.

Why does this not work on this kernel?

(Folks, please dont post just to say "why dont you use ide" , I want to solve this issue not ignore it.)

TIA , 8)
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.

AthlonXP-M on A7N8X @ 2.6/2.4GHz (winter/summer)
2.6.32-hh1 : portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Evil Dark Archon
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Dec 2002
Posts: 562
Location: Santa Rosa, CA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2005 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure you're going to find a solution because ide-scsi is unmaintained in the kernel, so there is probably a change in the ide subsystem that ide-scsi doesn't like and the kernel developers are not going to fix it. I wouldn't be suprised if the kernel developers decide to add ide-scsi to the feature removal schedule.
_________________
This post has been over explained for newb-informing purposes.

Registered Linux user 347334
Abit AV8-3rd eye, AMD Athlon64 3500+ 90nm, ATI Radeon x850 pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
discomfitor
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 927
Location: None

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2005 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry about the slow development lately guys, but I have this insane deadline that I have to meet later tonight. After that, I should be able to get another release out fairly soon.

Gentree: Evil Dark Archon is correct. I know you don't want me to recommend that you switch to ide support, so I won't (SWITCH TO IDE!). Instead, I'll say that there's a chance that it might work in the next nitro, but I can't guarantee anything since I use atapi burning myself ;).
_________________
There is no substitute for experience.
Imperfection indicates a lack of effort.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
studguy1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 7:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been using nitro for couple of days now. It it quite stable with no lockups whatsoever. I dont use much of the stuff in there (reseir4 etc.) but i do use swsusp2 and it works well. splashutils/fbsplash is a little quirky but i guess the bugs will be ironed out in future relases of the package and has nothing to do with kernel.
Just compiled KDE 3.4 and was a smooth sail.

Keep up the good work guys. Will be looking forward to future releases.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pifactorial
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 77
Location: 3<x<4 on the gamma function

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pifactorial wrote:
ARRGH! Twice now, this kernel has "soft locked" on me while using Firefox with high CPU usage.

:x Make that THREE times!
Please tell me this will be fixed in the next kernel. :cry:

EDIT: :roll: FOUR. This time it wasn't caused by Firefox, though, but Konqueror. And my CPU load wasn't high.


Last edited by pifactorial on Mon Mar 21, 2005 8:48 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
discomfitor
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 927
Location: None

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pifactorial wrote:
pifactorial wrote:
ARRGH! Twice now, this kernel has "soft locked" on me while using Firefox with high CPU usage.

:x Make that THREE times!
Please tell me this will be fixed in the next kernel. :cry:

As always, I can make no guarantees.

seppe has notified me that he's already working on the next version, and that he has a "special" surprise for framebuffer users.
_________________
There is no substitute for experience.
Imperfection indicates a lack of effort.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rush_ad
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jul 2004
Posts: 863
Location: New Jersey, USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

how are the experiences with amd64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 4 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum