Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
acroread 7?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hans0r
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jan 2005
Posts: 122
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 4:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

that plugin depends on openldap.

so you can either emerge openldap or just delete that plugin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo_lan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 889
Location: Denver, CO

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 4:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acroread 7 is available through portage.You just have to emerge using the ~x86 keyword.
_________________
Registered Linux user# 375038.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
radfoj
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 490
Location: Tísek, Czech Republic

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gentoo_lan wrote:
Acroread 7 is available through portage.You just have to emerge using the ~x86 keyword.


Thanks, I wait for it and succesfully emerged right now. But I didnt find, where setup font for "preferences" tab. Its too small and hard to be read.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syouth
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Sep 2004
Posts: 275

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 8:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any screenshots? I'm emerging it right now, but cant test it out till evening.
_________________
psylove
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zatalian
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Aug 2002
Posts: 179
Location: Gent, Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge acroread

Code:
...
 * The browser plugin does not work on firefox 1.0.1 (yet)



I guess that's my problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
radfoj
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 490
Location: Tísek, Czech Republic

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 8:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

syouth wrote:
Any screenshots? I'm emerging it right now, but cant test it out till evening.

splash screen
main window
opened document
preferences window (with too small fonts)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syouth
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Sep 2004
Posts: 275

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

zatalian wrote:
Code:
...
 * The browser plugin does not work on firefox 1.0.1 (yet)



I guess that's my problem.
Soon will be fixed I suppose.

Thanks radfoj:)
_________________
psylove
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
herbo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Feb 2004
Posts: 145
Location: Land Of Oz

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just installed it after taking ages to download (16kb/s on my 10Megabit cable connection is not great!)

Looks good and much much better than 5.x and have no problems with fonts at well. The preference window fonts all look fine. It looks like Adobe put a fair bit of work into this one, cause from early impressions it works well, is fast and all nothing much is missing (it even has a full help file!).

One thing is that it is MUCH faster than 5.x on my xp2500. I was surprised at how much faster ver 7 is over ver 5.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tln
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Sep 2003
Posts: 1502

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Those of you that are getting a slow startup, what arch are you running? It starts up instantly for me on x86.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
radfoj
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 490
Location: Tísek, Czech Republic

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tln wrote:
Those of you that are getting a slow startup, what arch are you running? It starts up instantly for me on x86.


I have Athlon-900MHz, 512RAM, HDD-speed-5400 (dont know how to write it :lol: )

acroread is starting for about 13 sec for the first time ..... next startups takes about 3s :oops:

its more then takes openoffice.org or firefox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
numerodix
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 743
Location: nl.eu

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried starting it twice in a row and closing the window immediately after it comes up...

Code:
$ time acroread

real    0m13.160s
user    0m0.966s
sys     0m0.245s

$ time acroread

real    0m4.879s
user    0m0.915s
sys     0m0.164s


P4 2.0/512MB
_________________
undvd - ripping dvds should be as simple as unzip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jowilly
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Jun 2002
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zatalian wrote:
emerge acroread

Code:
...
 * The browser plugin does not work on firefox 1.0.1 (yet)



I guess that's my problem.


Works great here.

Just make a symlink for the plugin:

#cd /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/
#ln -s /opt/Acrobat7/Browser/intellinux/nppdf.so ./
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wilburpan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Jan 2003
Posts: 977

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to chime in on the load time issue -- it takes about 3 secs for Acrobat 7 to load a 1.7 MB PDF file on my 700 MHz P3, while doing an "emerge -Duv world" at the same time.
_________________
I'm only hanging out in OTW until I get rid of this stupid l33t ranking.....Crap. That didn't work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wilburpan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Jan 2003
Posts: 977

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A separate issue:

Will there be an updated package for acroread-asianfonts? When I tried reemerging acroread-asianfonts, it installed everything into /opt/Acrobat5. Checking out the ebuild and following the source links, there isn't anything on the Adobe FTP server that looks like it corresponds to an equivalent set of fonts for Acrobat 7.0.
_________________
I'm only hanging out in OTW until I get rid of this stupid l33t ranking.....Crap. That didn't work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tcmdvm
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The browser plugin in the current package does work. However, I had to make the following link to get it to work:

cd /usr/bin
ln -s /opt/Acrobat7/acroread /usr/bin/acroread

I have also noticed it doesn't pop up because of the PPKLite.api error. After closing the error message, acroread pops up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
radfoj
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 490
Location: Tísek, Czech Republic

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tcmdvm wrote:

I have also noticed it doesn't pop up because of the PPKLite.api error. After closing the error message, acroread pops up.


It was written above by hans0r:

that plugin depends on openldap.

so you can either emerge openldap or just delete that plugin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo_lan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 889
Location: Denver, CO

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

radfoj wrote:
tcmdvm wrote:

I have also noticed it doesn't pop up because of the PPKLite.api error. After closing the error message, acroread pops up.


It was written above by hans0r:

that plugin depends on openldap.

so you can either emerge openldap or just delete that plugin.


They should have that issue fixed now. I submitted a bug in bugzilla and it is now resolved.
_________________
Registered Linux user# 375038.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
radfoj
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 490
Location: Tísek, Czech Republic

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have one more question. Its not so about acroread, but maybe about his ebuild. I am not sure. Becouse I am "prelinker" I found this:

Code:
$ ldd /opt/Acrobat7/Reader/intellinux/bin/acroread
        linux-gate.so.1 =>  (0xffffe000)
        libBIB.so => not found
        libACE.so => not found
        libAGM.so => not found
        libCoolType.so => not found
        libAXE16SharedExpat.so => not found
        libJP2K.so => not found
        libResAccess.so => not found
        libdl.so.2 => /lib/libdl.so.2 (0x42a43000)
        libXext.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXext.so.6 (0x453f4000)
        libX11.so.6 => /usr/lib/libX11.so.6 (0x45329000)
        libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0 (0x45623000)
        libgdk-x11-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libgdk-x11-2.0.so.0 (0x455a0000)
        libatk-1.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libatk-1.0.so.0 (0x48f1a000)
        libgdk_pixbuf-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libgdk_pixbuf-2.0.so.0 (0x43abf000)
        libm.so.6 => /lib/libm.so.6 (0x42a49000)
        libpangox-1.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libpangox-1.0.so.0 (0x45616000)
        libpango-1.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libpango-1.0.so.0 (0x43b16000)
        libgobject-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libgobject-2.0.so.0 (0x48e22000)
        libgmodule-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libgmodule-2.0.so.0 (0x48e59000)
        libglib-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libglib-2.0.so.0 (0x48da1000)
        libpthread.so.0 => /lib/libpthread.so.0 (0x42b5b000)
        libgdk_pixbuf_xlib-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libgdk_pixbuf_xlib-2.0.so.0 (0x45552000)
        libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0x4292e000)
        /lib/ld-linux.so.2 => /lib/ld-linux.so.2 (0x421ce000)
        libpangoxft-1.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libpangoxft-1.0.so.0 (0x4556e000)
        libXrandr.so.2 => /usr/lib/libXrandr.so.2 (0x454ec000)
        libXi.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXi.so.6 (0x45477000)
        libXinerama.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXinerama.so.1 (0x45c6c000)
        libXft.so.2 => /usr/lib/libXft.so.2 (0x454bf000)
        libfreetype.so.6 => /usr/lib/libfreetype.so.6 (0x45404000)
        libfontconfig.so.1 => /usr/lib/libfontconfig.so.1 (0x4548b000)
        libXfixes.so.3 => /usr/lib/libXfixes.so.3 (0x4560f000)
        libXcursor.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXcursor.so.1 (0x454f2000)
        libXrender.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXrender.so.1 (0x45481000)
        libpangoft2-1.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libpangoft2-1.0.so.0 (0x45577000)
        libexpat.so.0 => /usr/lib/libexpat.so.0 (0x42be5000)
        libz.so.1 => /lib/libz.so.1 (0x42b39000)

So is it OK that ldd complains about not founded libraries?
I tried add next line to /etc/env.d/10acroread5:
Code:
LDPATH=/opt/Acrobat7/Reader/intellinux/lib

Now, after typing env-update, it looks alright:
Code:
$ ldd /opt/Acrobat7/Reader/intellinux/bin/acroread
        linux-gate.so.1 =>  (0xffffe000)
        libBIB.so => /opt/Acrobat7/Reader/intellinux/lib/libBIB.so (0xb7f9b000)
        libACE.so => /opt/Acrobat7/Reader/intellinux/lib/libACE.so (0xb7ec9000)
        libAGM.so => /opt/Acrobat7/Reader/intellinux/lib/libAGM.so (0xb7b2e000)
        libCoolType.so => /opt/Acrobat7/Reader/intellinux/lib/libCoolType.so (0xb7764000)
        libAXE16SharedExpat.so => /opt/Acrobat7/Reader/intellinux/lib/libAXE16SharedExpat.so (0xb772d000)
        libJP2K.so => /opt/Acrobat7/Reader/intellinux/lib/libJP2K.so (0xb7674000)
        libResAccess.so => /opt/Acrobat7/Reader/intellinux/lib/libResAccess.so (0xb7671000)


So is it bug or not? Becouse after emerging acroread, there were added into /etc/env.d/10acroread5 PATH and ROOTPATH, but not LDPATH. :?:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asiobob
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 1375
Location: Bamboo Creek

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 2:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm impressed by this. I nearly failed a unit last semester cause xpdf failed to display some symbols. Yes my fault for not paying more attention.
Not a biggy but I wished it used the newer GTK open/save dialog window
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
statmobile
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Jul 2004
Posts: 286
Location: Chapel Hill, NC

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow this really is an enormous improvement. It's so fast, I'm not sure if I have much of a need to use xpdf any more. Thanks for the heads up everyone!
_________________
Comp Specs:
Asus A7V(rev1.02)|AMDXP2100+@1.7GHz|Creative SB128PCI|32MB NVIDIA/TNT2AGP|512MBPC-133
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IWBCMAN
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Jun 2002
Posts: 474

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. For those of you having problems with the browser plugin here is the scoop.


If you are using GTK+ <= 2.4.9 you should not be having any problems with the plugin

If you are using GTK+ > 2.4.9( ie. all you beeding-edge and gnome-2.10 types) you have probably noticed that the plugin simply does not work in the browsers.


so following a post made by firely (that genius !) here is a workaround.


Code:

mkdir /opt/Acrobat7/Reader/intellinux/lib/gui
ebuild /usr/portage/x11-libs/gtk+/gtk+-2.4.9-r1.ebuild install
cp -ax /var/tmp/portage/gtk+-2.4.9-r1/image/usr/lib/* /opt/Acrobat7/Reader/intellinux/lib/gui/


Now edit 'acoread' (/usr/bin/acroread)

find this section in the acroread script:
Code:

#
# Setup configuration specific environment variables
#
case "$ACRO_CONFIG" in
  sparcsolaris)
    LD_LIBRARY_PATH="`prepend "$ACRO_INSTALL_DIR/$ACRO_CONFIG/lib" "$LD_LIBRARY_PATH"`"
    export LD_LIBRARY_PATH
    ;;
  intellinux)
    LD_LIBRARY_PATH="`prepend "$ACRO_INSTALL_DIR/$ACRO_CONFIG/lib:$ACRO_INSTALL_DIR/$ACRO_CONFIG/sidecars" "$LD_LIBRARY_PATH"`"
    export LD_LIBRARY_PATH
    ;;
esac


now modify the LD_LIBRARY_PATH line, ie. the 'intellinux)' one to look as follows:
Code:

LD_LIBRARY_PATH="`prepend "$ACRO_INSTALL_DIR/$ACRO_CONFIG/lib/gui:$ACRO_INSTALL_DIR/$ACRO_CONFIG/lib:$ACRO_INSTALL_DIR/$ACRO_CONFIG/sidecars" "$LD_LIBRARY_PATH"`"



just to reiterate: prepend the following to the (second) LD_LIBRARY_PATH line
Code:

$ACRO_INSTALL_DIR/$ACRO_CONFIG/lib/gui:


now your browser plugin should work ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Idler921
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Aug 2004
Posts: 51
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've add the LD_PATH, edited the acroread script, ldd /opt/Acrobat7/Reader/intellinux/bin/acroread
have not missing library.
but it does not start and only show the splash screen. :evil:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zoto
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Posts: 155
Location: Italy - Bologna

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have all two problems with this acroread7: PPKlite.api error and not load of pdf in firefox.

For first problem i must install openldap? (i don't understand...) or can i block this plugin?

For second problem? my firefox open the pdf document in tab-window, but the window is white and acroread7 don't work.

Thanks and sorry for my bad english!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo_lan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 889
Location: Denver, CO

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zoto wrote:
I have all two problems with this acroread7: PPKlite.api error and not load of pdf in firefox.

For first problem i must install openldap? (i don't understand...) or can i block this plugin?

For second problem? my firefox open the pdf document in tab-window, but the window is white and acroread7 don't work.

Thanks and sorry for my bad english!


For the plugin. You can either remove it or install openldap...those are your only 2 options.

Read the IWBCMAN's post for how to fix the firefox plugin.
_________________
Registered Linux user# 375038.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
runlevel0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Sep 2004
Posts: 62
Location: Excessively Sunny Spain

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 11:54 pm    Post subject: The famous Linux acroread 7 Beta Reply with quote

georgebills wrote:
There was a release of a public Linux beta of acrobat reader 7, but it's been taken down now. I think I remember them planning to make a proper (ie non beta / pre release) version 7 for Linux as well, but they must be bugfixing it right now.
http://www.adobe.co.uk/products/acrobat/readstep2.html


I have AR 7 -Beta isntalled, it runs, and that's all I can say. The stuff works, but it's damn slow.

I have read that the new KDE 3.4 includes a revamped KPDF which would be able to select text and images, but I don't know if it can be used in the way Acroread does.

Perhaps wine would be a good solution.

AFAIK there already are betas in the P2P networks.
_________________
--
]:O <-[Mooooooooooo!]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 2 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum