Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
more devfs troubles
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
smite
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 266
Location: /dev/hda4

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2003 5:48 pm    Post subject: more devfs troubles Reply with quote

Ok, I did read all the devfs FAQs, and I attemped to compile it into my kernel (using make menuconfig). After copying bzImage to /boot, I rebooted. It didn't work. Then I searched the archives, and learned I had to mount /boot first (duh)! However /dev/hda8 (boot partition) doesn't exist. I'm hoping once I get devfs working, it will solve my "'C1 respawning too fast" problem to. Can anyone help me?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7313
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2003 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fdisk -l (that's a lowercase L) should list all your disk partitions.
Maybe /boot is not where you think it is.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smite
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 266
Location: /dev/hda4

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2003 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When partitioning in the install, I made a note of /boot's location, so I'm fairly sure it's correct. fdisk -l returns nothing, and cfdisk tells me "FATAL ERROR: Cannot open disk drive. Press any key to exit cfdisk".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7313
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2003 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe your partition table was damaged.
Code:
# dmesg | grep -C 4 Partition

This will show the kernel doing its partition check.
Mine looks like this (on my laptop) :
Code:
hda: 39070080 sectors (20004 MB) w/2048KiB Cache, CHS=2432/255/63, UDMA(100)
Partition check:
 /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0: p1 p2

This shows that I have 2 partitions : hda1, hda2
BTW, hda is a symlink /dev/hda => /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smite
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 266
Location: /dev/hda4

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2003 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mine says:
Code:

ide1 at 0x170-0x177,0x376 on irq 15
hda: 80418240 sectors (41174 MB) w/1916KiB Cache, CHS=5005/255/63, UDMA(100)
hdc: ATAPI 48X DVD-ROM drive, 512kB Cache, UDMA(33)
Uniform CD-ROM driver Revision: 3.12
Partition check:
hda: hda1 hda2 < hda5 hda6 hda7 hda8 hda9 hda10 >
Floppy drive(s): fd0 is 1.44M
FDC 0 is a post-1991 82077
eepro100.c:v1.09j-t 9/29/99 Donald Becker http://www.scyld.com/network/eepro100.html


It has hda8, which is my boot partition. Now why won't it show up as /dev/hda8?
/dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0 doesn't exist.
[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7313
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2003 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm ...

Yours looks fine, and hda8 does exist.
(the /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0: p1 p2 stuff is because I have devfs compiled in and this is how IDE drives show up)

Even without devfs, the partitions should still work and cfdisk /dev/hda should let you look at the partitions without giving you an error.

Try this :
Code:
# ls -la /dev/hda*

If the device node for hda8 is missing, that could cause some problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smite
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 266
Location: /dev/hda4

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2003 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
brw-rw----    1 root     disk       3,  10 Feb 22 16:42 /dev/hda10
brw-rw----    1 root     disk       3,  11 Feb 22 16:42 /dev/hda11
brw-rw----    1 root     disk       3,  15 Feb 22 16:42 /dev/hda15
brw-rw----    1 root     disk       3,  16 Feb 22 16:42 /dev/hda16
brw-rw----    1 root     disk       3,  18 Feb 22 16:42 /dev/hda18
brw-rw----    1 root     disk       3,  19 Feb 22 16:42 /dev/hda19
brw-rw----    1 root     disk       3,   3 Feb 22 16:42 /dev/hda3
brw-rw----    1 root     disk       3,   4 Feb 22 16:42 /dev/hda4
brw-rw----    1 root     disk       3,   5 Feb 22 16:42 /dev/hda5
brw-rw----    1 root     disk       3,   6 Feb 22 16:42 /dev/hda6
brw-rw----    1 root     disk       3,   7 Feb 22 16:42 /dev/hda7
brw-rw----    1 root     disk       3,   9 Feb 22 16:42 /dev/hda9


Looks like hda8 is indeed missing. But it boots okay, until I get the devfs warning and the "'C1 respawning too fast" problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fifo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jan 2003
Posts: 437

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2003 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could try booting your new kernel (with devfs support) from where it is on the root partition. To do this, change your grub kernel line to point at the new kernel, e.g.
Code:
kernel (hd0,8)/boot/bzImage root=/dev/hda9

This is assuming /dev/hda9 is your root partition, if /dev/hda10 is root, then you need (hd0,9)/boot/bzImage, etc. You can do this from the grub menu by pressing "e".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7313
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2003 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
# cd /dev
# mknod hda8 b 3 8

This should recreate the device node (I have not had to do this myself, so hopefully it does the right thing)

As soon as you get the chance, recompile your kernel with devfs enabled, so your device nodes can be handled automatically.
Code:
File systems --->
[*] /dev file system support (EXPERIMENTAL)
[*]   Automatically mount at boot


<edit> I think fifo has the easiest way to do it above </edit>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smite
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 266
Location: /dev/hda4

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2003 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I followed fifo's advice, and now my gentoo boots succesfully! Changing it to
Code:
 kernel (hd0,9)/boot/bzImage root=/dev/hda9

worked, and I was able to mount /boot and copy bzImage. Now I can boot normally, hda8 shows up in /dev, cfdisk runs without problems, and the "respawning too fast" errors are gone! Thanks to both of you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum