Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
No Internet after kernel compile
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jaycup7
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2003 3:38 am    Post subject: No Internet after kernel compile Reply with quote

I can't connect to the internet now that I have complied my kernel. I have my module loaded and it worked before. It says "the network cannot be reached" now when i try to ping or download stuff during an emerge. Please help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PT_LAmb
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 332
Location: Lisboa (Lisbon), Portugal

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2003 3:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try to find something unusual on dmesg, and tell us more about your network setup.

Good luck,
Ricardo Cordeiro :)
_________________
SETI@Home - http://setiathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matosale
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jan 2003
Posts: 218
Location: Lima - Peru // Linz - Austria

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2003 4:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
route add default gateway xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx


put your gateway and it should be fine ;)
_________________
Alejandro Matos
Perumanta Austriapi
"...tupac manchis kama..."
Linux Registered User: #287900
Linux Registered Machine: #169303
http://counter.li.org
--
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveb
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Sep 2002
Posts: 4564

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2003 4:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

can you post the output of:
Code:
lsmod
Code:
lspci -vv
Code:
ifconfig
Code:
route -n
Code:
cat /etc/resolv.conf
Code:
cat /etc/conf.d/net
Code:
ls -1 /etc/runlevels/default/ /etc/runlevels/boot/
Code:
cat /etc/modules.autoload
Code:
ls -1 /lib/modules/$(uname -r)/kernel/drivers/net
Code:
cat /lib/modules/$(uname -r)/build/.config
Code:
dmesg



cheers

SteveB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jaycup7
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2003 4:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lsmod:
Module: ne2k-pci
Size 5216
Used by: 1
Not Tainted

lsvci -vv : bad command or file name

ifconfig:

eth0
Link encap:Ethernet HWadder 00:00:E8:D908:EC
inet addr:192.168.0.2 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric 1
(packet info)
Interupt:9 Base address 0x1020
lo
Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:244.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric
(more packet info)

route -n:
Kernel IP routing table
Destination: 192.168.0.0
Gateway: 0.0.0.0
Genmask: 255.255.255.0
Flags: U
Mteric: 0
REf: 0
Use Iface: 0 eth0

cat /etc/resolv.conf: nameserver 192.168.0.1

cat /etc/conf.d/net: same stuff

boot runlevels:
bootmisc
checkfs
checkroot
clock
consolefont
hostname
ketmaps
localmount
modules
net.lo
rmnologin
serial
urandom

default runlevels:

local
metalog
net.eth0
netmount

autoload modules:
ne2k-pci

ls -1 /lib/...net:
dummy.o
ne2k-pci

cat /lib/....config: lots of stuff "not set"

dmesg gives lots of stuff too...ne2k-pci shows up and ethj0: RealTeck RTL-8029 found at 0x1020, IRQ 9...shows up too...let me know if you need more info...

I am connecting through a router for mt network setup. I obviously had internet before beacuse I downloaded all the stages. NOw it just doesn't work when i run off the hd instead of the cd. I autoloaded my network card module (as you can see that works)...did i miss something else with not saving something from the net-setup program...and can i run that again from the hd...and if so how do i have it work every time i boot?

I'm not sure what my gateway would be since I have this router. With windows i just plugged it in and installed the IP adn IPX protocols and game myself a name and i was done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matosale
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jan 2003
Posts: 218
Location: Lima - Peru // Linz - Austria

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2003 4:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

have you tried putting the gateway as default? ;)
Saludos
_________________
Alejandro Matos
Perumanta Austriapi
"...tupac manchis kama..."
Linux Registered User: #287900
Linux Registered Machine: #169303
http://counter.li.org
--
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jaycup7
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2003 4:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey, you are smart...i put 192.168.0.2 as my gateway and now i have internet...how'd you know that? in other words, what is my gateway and how do i make this work for every boot...or will it be fine now? Sorry, I'm really new with linux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveb
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Sep 2002
Posts: 4564

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2003 4:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

okay... the ne2k-pci.o dirver is the right one for your RealTeck RTL-8029 card.

eth0 looks okay to me.

the routing table (route -n) does not look okay to me. where is your default gateway?

your /etc/conf.d/net looks like /etc/resolv.conf? is that right? then you have 100% a error in /etc/conf.d/net!
normaly /etc/conf.d/net should look like:
Code:
# /etc/conf.d/net:
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/conf.d/net,v 1.7 2002/11/18 19:39:22 azarah Exp $

# Global config file for net.* rc-scripts

# This is basically the ifconfig argument without the ifconfig $iface
#
iface_eth0="192.168.0.2 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
#iface_eth1="207.170.82.202 broadcast 207.0.255.255 netmask 255.255.0.0"

# For DHCP set iface_eth? to "dhcp"
# For passing options to dhcpcd use dhcpcd_eth?
#
#iface_eth0="dhcp"
#dhcpcd_eth0="..."

# For adding aliases to a interface
#
#alias_eth0="192.168.0.3 192.168.0.4"

# NB:  The next is only used for aliases.
#
# To add a custom netmask/broadcast address to created aliases,
# uncomment and change accordingly.  Leave commented to assign
# defaults for that interface.
#
#broadcast_eth0="192.168.0.255 192.168.0.255"
#netmask_eth0="255.255.255.0 255.255.255.0"


# For setting the default gateway
#
#gateway="eth0/192.168.0.1"



could you please post if you use dhcp or not? and if you don't use dhcp, then could you please post what ip address you want to assign to the eth0 interface and could you please post the ip address of your default gateway?


if you use dhcp, then you need to change your /etc/conf.d/net to:
Code:
# /etc/conf.d/net:
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/conf.d/net,v 1.7 2002/11/18 19:39:22 azarah Exp $

# Global config file for net.* rc-scripts

# This is basically the ifconfig argument without the ifconfig $iface
#
#iface_eth0="192.168.0.2 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
#iface_eth1="207.170.82.202 broadcast 207.0.255.255 netmask 255.255.0.0"

# For DHCP set iface_eth? to "dhcp"
# For passing options to dhcpcd use dhcpcd_eth?
#
#iface_eth0="dhcp"
#dhcpcd_eth0="..."
iface_eth0="dhcp"

# For adding aliases to a interface
#
#alias_eth0="192.168.0.3 192.168.0.4"

# NB:  The next is only used for aliases.
#
# To add a custom netmask/broadcast address to created aliases,
# uncomment and change accordingly.  Leave commented to assign
# defaults for that interface.
#
#broadcast_eth0="192.168.0.255 192.168.0.255"
#netmask_eth0="255.255.255.0 255.255.255.0"


# For setting the default gateway
#
#gateway="eth0/192.168.0.1"




cheers

SteveB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matosale
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jan 2003
Posts: 218
Location: Lima - Peru // Linz - Austria

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2003 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i had the same problem as i installed Gentoo: I had EVERYTHING good configurated, but I still couldn't go online.

Putting the gateway as default will be enuff

Code:
route add default gateway xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx


Viel spaß
Have a lot of fun
Que te diviertas
:lol:
_________________
Alejandro Matos
Perumanta Austriapi
"...tupac manchis kama..."
Linux Registered User: #287900
Linux Registered Machine: #169303
http://counter.li.org
--
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matosale
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jan 2003
Posts: 218
Location: Lima - Peru // Linz - Austria

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2003 5:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i had the same problem as i installed Gentoo: I had EVERYTHING good configurated, but I still couldn't go online.

Putting the gateway as default will be enuff

Code:
route add default gateway xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx


Viel spaß
Have a lot of fun
Que te diviertas
:lol:
_________________
Alejandro Matos
Perumanta Austriapi
"...tupac manchis kama..."
Linux Registered User: #287900
Linux Registered Machine: #169303
http://counter.li.org
--
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveb
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Sep 2002
Posts: 4564

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2003 5:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jaycup7 wrote:
hey, you are smart...i put 192.168.0.2 as my gateway and now i have internet...how'd you know that? in other words, what is my gateway and how do i make this work for every boot...or will it be fine now? Sorry, I'm really new with linux.


ahhh... okay... then you need to change /etc/conf.d/net:
Code:
# /etc/conf.d/net:
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/conf.d/net,v 1.7 2002/11/18 19:39:22 azarah Exp $

# Global config file for net.* rc-scripts

# This is basically the ifconfig argument without the ifconfig $iface
#
iface_eth0="192.168.0.2 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
#iface_eth1="207.170.82.202 broadcast 207.0.255.255 netmask 255.255.0.0"

# For DHCP set iface_eth? to "dhcp"
# For passing options to dhcpcd use dhcpcd_eth?
#
#iface_eth0="dhcp"
#dhcpcd_eth0="..."

# For adding aliases to a interface
#
#alias_eth0="192.168.0.3 192.168.0.4"

# NB:  The next is only used for aliases.
#
# To add a custom netmask/broadcast address to created aliases,
# uncomment and change accordingly.  Leave commented to assign
# defaults for that interface.
#
#broadcast_eth0="192.168.0.255 192.168.0.255"
#netmask_eth0="255.255.255.0 255.255.255.0"


# For setting the default gateway
#
gateway="eth0/192.168.0.2"



what is a gateway? (sorry my english is not the best... but i try):
when you send data to a ip address, then your system is knowing wich ip addresses are on his network. if you now request a address not known to the system, it will forward the request to the default gateway and wait till he gets a aswer from the gateway (if the gateway is unable to connect/transmit the data to the requested address it will notify the system that i was not able to forward the request).


cheers

SteveB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jaycup7
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2003 5:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i think my router uses dynamic ip asigning. if i enabled that in that file should i now be able to have internet all the time now? because i took Viel's advice and it worked...but then it didn't hold after a reboot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jaycup7
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2003 5:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh gotcha...thanks..i'll try that. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gilesjuk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2003
Posts: 412
Location: Staffordshire, UK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2003 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gateway, the ip address you machine will talk to when it tries to connect to an internet address (or foreign network address).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum