View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures
View previous topic :: View next topic  
varname
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2005 9:25 pm    Post subject: [alpha - srm] st3 - aboot boot failure [was: QLogic modules] Reply with quote

hello all,

Last week I was able to acquire an Digital Server 3000 (AS800 whitebox) which was running NT4.
As I have another machine (i386) running gentoo I decided to try and see if I could get gentoo on the Alpha.

I've never worked with an Alpha before, but after reading some documentation on SRM / AlphaBIOS and general Alpha related stuff, I felt confident enough to try it.

Besides an annoying problem with the onboard scsi controller (qlogic isp1040b - kernel panics), I've come to the point where one needs to install the bootloader; which I want to do.

The (helpfull) handbook for alpha's says:

Quote:
'We first install aboot on our system. Of course we use emerge to do so:

# emerge --usepkg aboot

And ofcourse I do so; after wget-ting the sources (I have no $PKGDIR set, and I was unable to find any mirror), emerge unpacks and starts the compilation-process which ends in:

Code:
!!! ERROR: sys-boot/aboot-0.9-r1 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 25, Exitcode 2
!!! (no error message)
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, NOT this status message.

The topmost error is:

Code:
gcc  -I/var/tmp/portage/aboot-0.9-r1/work/aboot-0.9/include -I/usr/src/linux/include -D__KERNEL__ -mcpu=ev4 -Os -Wall -fno-builtin -mno-fp-regs -ffixed-8 -c -o utils.o utils.c
In file included from /usr/src/linux/include/linux/compiler.h:29,
                 from /usr/src/linux/include/linux/stddef.h:4,
                 from /usr/src/linux/include/linux/kernel.h:12,
                 from cons.c:3:
/usr/src/linux/include/linux/compiler-gcc3.h:17:1: warning: "__attribute_used__" redefined