Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Radeon 7000-9700 DRI CVS Install Guide
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
phelan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Aug 2002
Posts: 110
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2003 3:56 pm    Post subject: Radeon 7000-9700 DRI CVS Install Guide Reply with quote

This guide describes how to get and compile the newest DRI code responsible for 3D acceleration in XFree. This can speed up performance, resolve problems or bring up new problems!

Only do the follwing if you feel happy with testing-stage software!

Of course you have to change the paths according to your system and you need root-rights.

1. Emerge XFree 4.3

If you haven't already done so.

2. Download and compile the sources
First of all, make sure you have compiled AGP Support either into the Kernel or, even better, as a module.

Look at this guide:
http://dri.sourceforge.net/doc/DRIcompile.html

Most gentoo-people can start off with topic 6.
Follow the guide until you reach 8.3.
There I had to use 'make World' instead of the more complicated lines given.

We'll leave the guide now.
When it finished we need to compile the kernel-module:
cd ~/DRI-CVS/build/xc/programs/Xserver/hw/xfree86/os-support/linux/drm/kernel
make -f Makefile.linux radeon.o
cp radeon.o /lib/modules/2.4.19-gentoo-r10/kernel/drivers/char/drm/

3. Install the new drivers
(First you may want to backup the files we replace. This is not covered here)

cd ~/DRI-CVS/build/xc/exports/lib/modules/

cp dri/r200_dri.so /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/dri/
cp drivers/atimisc_drv.o /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/
cp drivers/radeon_drv.o /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/
cp extensions/libdri.a /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/
cp linux/libdrm.a /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/linux/

4. Configuration
Add these lines to your "Module" Section in /etc/X11/XF86Config if they're not already there.

Load "glx"
Load "dri"

For better performance you can add these lines to the "Device" section:

Option "AGPMode" "4"
Option "EnablePageFlip"

But beware of the "EnablePageFlip" option. I've read it can cause crashes, although it has never done for me.

5. Final Steps
Go to a console and shut down XFree:

/etc/init.d/xdm stop

Now we clean up and get the new modules ready. Execute:

update-modules
modprobe -r radeon

Finally, start XFree again:

/etc/init.d/xdm start


Last edited by phelan on Wed Mar 05, 2003 9:54 am; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xlyz
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2002
Posts: 1470
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2003 12:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tv out works with them?

and winex?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lovechild
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 May 2002
Posts: 2858
Location: Århus, Denmark

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you.. with a little adaptation I made this hint work for my Radeon 7500 as well, just needed different drivers, and now DRI works in XFree 4.3pre, which it hasn't done before..

So, you earned worshipping points my friend.. I can now play UT again, and now about 15% faster (according to glxgears).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phelan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Aug 2002
Posts: 110
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

PostPosted: Fri Feb 14, 2003 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

xlyz wrote:
tv out works with them?


I don't think DRI is related to tv-out! You may want to check out the TV Output section of this FAQ:
http://www.ati.com/support/faq/linux.html

xlyz wrote:
and winex?


This article at Transgaming says something about WineX support for various 8500 drivers:
http://www.transgaming.com/showthread.php?news=55
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xlyz
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2002
Posts: 1470
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sat Feb 15, 2003 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

phelan wrote:

http://www.ati.com/support/faq/linux.html

http://www.transgaming.com/showthread.php?news=55


I knew those docs.

Just wondering whether atitvout work with latest dri drivers included with 4.2.99 (it doesn't with ati drivers) and if winex issues were fixed.

My current config works fine, and being them the main reason for upgrading, I would like to know it before messing everything up :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vibidoo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2002
Posts: 394

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2003 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have follow your tips and now I have DRI initialized very well with my Radeon 9000 ( r250) :lol:

But what about Glx ??

I emerged tuxracer for FPS testing and each time I get this error

Code:

Configure: error: your copy of glx.h is out of date ...

!!! ERROR : app-games/tuxracer-0.61-r2 failed
!!! Function econf; Line 334, Exitcode 1
!!! econf failed

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bloke2k
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2003 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm I have a small question on this one, it says get to 8.1 in the guide and then leave it and follow the rest of this post, but do you still have to do the ln -s blah bla etc first?

I almost have this working but X just gives me a blank screen when I try to start it

I am using the Radeon 7200 does this make a difference ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phelan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Aug 2002
Posts: 110
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2003 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vibidoo wrote:

I emerged tuxracer for FPS testing and each time I get this error

Code:

Configure: error: your copy of glx.h is out of date ...

!!! ERROR : app-games/tuxracer-0.61-r2 failed
!!! Function econf; Line 334, Exitcode 1
!!! econf failed


I have encountered this problem even with an unmodified 4.2.99.4 installation. I don't think the file is out of date but too new.

You may try to get the glx.h file from Xfree 4.2.1 and temporarly copy it over your /usr/X11R6/include/GL/glx.h (Backup it first!). Maybe somebody can provide this file if you don't have the 4.2.1 sources available.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phelan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Aug 2002
Posts: 110
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2003 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bloke2k wrote:
Hmm I have a small question on this one, it says get to 8.1 in the guide and then leave it and follow the rest of this post, but do you still have to do the ln -s blah bla etc first?

Sorry, this one was a typo. It's 8.3 not 8.1. :oops:

To answer your question: Yes!

Bloke2k wrote:

I almost have this working but X just gives me a blank screen when I try to start it

I am using the Radeon 7200 does this make a difference ?

Yes! You need to copy another file. Instead of
cp dri/r200_dri.so /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/dri/

you need to type:
cp dri/radeon_dri.so /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/dri/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vibidoo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2002
Posts: 394

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2003 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

phelan wrote:

I have encountered this problem even with an unmodified 4.2.99.4 installation. I don't think the file is out of date but too new.

You may try to get the glx.h file from Xfree 4.2.1 and temporarly copy it over your /usr/X11R6/include/GL/glx.h (Backup it first!). Maybe somebody can provide this file if you don't have the 4.2.1 sources available.


Ok thanks for your advise Phelan .

[edit ]

It's ok , it works

[/edit]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rikkus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2003 4:15 pm    Post subject: Getting a working glx.h Reply with quote

Go into the checkout of XFree you made (DRI-CVS) and find
glx.h. Update it to version 1.12 using:
cvs up -r 1.12 glx.h

Now copy that over the one in the installed X11, then:
cvs up -A glx.h
to get it back to its original version.

This will give you a glx.h which works for e.g. tuxracer.

Rik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rikkus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2003 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To clear up any confusion about which options need selecting
in the 'Character devices' section of the kernel config:

[img:742d252790]http://rikkus.info/tmp/kernconf.png[/img:742d252790]

AMD agpgart support selected, because that's what I have.
Note that DRI is selected but no DRM-related stuff is.
Also note that agpgart support is built as a module.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jkay
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Dec 2002
Posts: 214
Location: thatched-roof cottages

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2003 3:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hm.

I followed these instructions to the letter, for a Radeon 8500, including the menuconfig shown here.

The radeon module is full of unresolved symbols tho and will not load at startup, and manually.

Quote:

www root # modprobe radeon
/lib/modules/2.4.19-gentoo-r10/kernel/drivers/char/drm/radeon.o: unresolved symbol add_wait_queue_Rsmp_a8ebcd4b
/lib/modules/2.4.19-gentoo-r10/kernel/drivers/char/drm/radeon.o: unresolved symbol create_proc_entry_Rsmp_7e7ecef1
/lib/modules/2.4.19-gentoo-r10/kernel/drivers/char/drm/radeon.o: unresolved symbol fasync_helper_Rsmp_85887c5b
/lib/modules/2.4.19-gentoo-r10/kernel/drivers/char/drm/radeon.o: unresolved symbol send_sig_info_Rsmp_f4e56e66
/lib/modules/2.4.19-gentoo-r10/kernel/drivers/char/drm/radeon.o: unresolved symbol zone_table_Rsmp_2597b016
/lib/modules/2.4.19-gentoo-r10/kernel/drivers/char/drm/radeon.o: unresolved symbol vmalloc_to_page_Rsmp_79e62c63
/lib/modules/2.4.19-gentoo-r10/kernel/drivers/char/drm/radeon.o: unresolved symbol kill_fasync_Rsmp_038d9c3f
/lib/modules/2.4.19-gentoo-r10/kernel/drivers/char/drm/radeon.o: unresolved symbol remove_proc_entry_Rsmp_780a65f7
/lib/modules/2.4.19-gentoo-r10/kernel/drivers/char/drm/radeon.o: unresolved symbol remove_wait_queue_Rsmp_d6956ef9
/lib/modules/2.4.19-gentoo-r10/kernel/drivers/char/drm/radeon.o: unresolved symbol register_chrdev_Rsmp_93767df9
/lib/modules/2.4.19-gentoo-r10/kernel/drivers/char/drm/radeon.o: unresolved symbol __pollwait_Rsmp_eb8a59f3
/lib/modules/2.4.19-gentoo-r10/kernel/drivers/char/drm/radeon.o: unresolved symbol do_mmap_pgoff_Rsmp_739c670f
/lib/modules/2.4.19-gentoo-r10/kernel/drivers/char/drm/radeon.o: unresolved symbol mem_map_Rsmp_aa83c46c
/lib/modules/2.4.19-gentoo-r10/kernel/drivers/char/drm/radeon.o: insmod /lib/modules/2.4.19-gentoo-r10/kernel/drivers/char/drm/radeon.o failed
/lib/modules/2.4.19-gentoo-r10/kernel/drivers/char/drm/radeon.o: insmod radeon failed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rikkus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2003 1:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jkay wrote:

The radeon module is full of unresolved symbols tho and will not load at startup, and manually.


This probably means you're either picking up the wrong module or you compiled the module for a different kernel. Try doing a make clean for the radeon module in the DRI-CVS dir and make it again, then try insmod directly on it.

Rik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phelan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Aug 2002
Posts: 110
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2003 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Everybody already running the drivers should notice that I updated section 4 of the guide with some performance-rising options for your XF86Config. (Of course, no recompiling is needed)

That 'flipping' stuff pushed my glxgears score up another 30%!

Currently, I'm thinking about making an eBuild for this guide. But assuming that the DRI people will resume releasing snapshots when XFree 4.3.0 is out it would become obsolete...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zeb
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 79
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2003 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried this tip for my radeon 7200, copying radeon_dri instead of r200_dri. I can start X, but when starting glxgears or glxinfo I get this error:
Code:

X Error of failed request:  BadMatch (invalid parameter attributes)
  Major opcode of failed request:  143 (GLX)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  5 (X_GLXMakeCurrent)
  Serial number of failed request:  349
  Current serial number in output stream:  349

Any ideas what could be wrong?

Edit:
I fixed the problem: I recompiled the kernel with agpgart as a module instead, and without compiling the old radeon driver as a module, which I had selected previously. I then copied radeon.o back into the drm folder and now it works :D
_________________
-- Zeb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
john_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2003
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2003 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did what you said, and it worked. But I loaded up quake3 to test it out (Native, not threw wine(x)) And I get a _little_ better preformance then I did before which wasn't good to start with. Maybe 3 or 4 FPS @ 640 after DRI. I dunno if this is related to this forum/thread but it tells me to do "set +r_SoftwareGL 1" when I exec it. And when I don't do that it syas that OpenGL can't be opened or isn't there. (I dunno the exact because im in windows now) Could that be a problem. I run a Radeon 8500 /w the DRI drivers. glxgears works pretty good. I get about 100fps off of that (is that good?) Anyways I dunnpo why I am getting such crappy preformance out of my card.
_________________
n00bin' it up since '86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sastraxi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 258

PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2003 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Most people get in the thousands (I get about 7000-8000 with r9500 pro), so obviously it isn't working. Did you put the Load "glx" and Load "dri" lines in there?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
john_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2003
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2003 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah they are in my XF config.
_________________
n00bin' it up since '86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LinuxDocc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Aug 2002
Posts: 24
Location: Frankfurt / Main

PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2003 11:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have had the same problem .... it is very easy add this to your XF86Config

Section "DRI"
Mode 0666
EndSection


(look at the end of XF86Config there is it, remove the # )

Restart the x server and then you have hardware 3D :-)

LinuxDoc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thing_q3
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jan 2003
Posts: 48
Location: Zurich

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2003 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm getting the following errors when i try to startx after the install:
Code:

(EE) module ABI minor version (6) is newer than the server's version (5)
(EE) Failed to load module "radeon" (module requirement mismatch, 0)
(EE) RADEON:  Failed to load "radeon" module.
Fatal server error: no screens found

Any ideas as to what the problem could be? I was getting unresolved symbols in the radeon module earlier, but a recompile seemed to fix this.
_________________
Experience is that marvelous thing that enables you recognize a mistake when you make it again. -- F. P. Jones
and...
Good judgment comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgment. -- Unknown
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Italy's Chicken
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2003 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thing_q3 wrote:
I'm getting the following errors when i try to startx after the install:
Code:

(EE) module ABI minor version (6) is newer than the server's version (5)
(EE) Failed to load module "radeon" (module requirement mismatch, 0)
(EE) RADEON:  Failed to load "radeon" module.
Fatal server error: no screens found

Any ideas as to what the problem could be? I was getting unresolved symbols in the radeon module earlier, but a recompile seemed to fix this.
i'm getting the same problem as you... if you look a little farther up the log, it says:
Quote:
(II) Module radeon: vendor="The XFree86 Project"
compiled for 4.3.0, module version = 4.0.1
Module class: XFree86 Video Driver
ABI class: XFree86 Video Driver, version 0.6
(EE) module ABI minor version (6) is newer than the server's version (5)
my guess is the radeon module is for version 4.0.1. so how can we recompile it for 4.3.0?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phelan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Aug 2002
Posts: 110
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2003 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[/quote]my guess is the radeon module is for version 4.0.1. so how can we recompile it for 4.3.0?[/quote]

Have you done the last three lines of step two?

You also have to remember, that not every code you get from CVS has to be fully functional so trying it a week later or so can resolve some problems!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thing_q3
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jan 2003
Posts: 48
Location: Zurich

PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2003 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I went the emerge xfree-drm route, and everything's working fine now, i get about 2600 f/s on glxgears.
I think the problem may have been that I just had the lastest stable xfree from the emerge tree (4.1 maybe?), rather than the newest one (4.3), which is what the cvs repository would be geared towards (?). Thanks anyway for your help!
_________________
Experience is that marvelous thing that enables you recognize a mistake when you make it again. -- F. P. Jones
and...
Good judgment comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgment. -- Unknown
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ZephidZebra
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Apr 2003
Posts: 8
Location: Europe>Denmark>Westjylland>Vinderup

PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2003 6:05 pm    Post subject: Radeon 7500 Reply with quote

Hi,

I have Radeon 7500 and it does not work :(

Ref: http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=46780

plz help me, hate using vesa... :/
_________________
My system:
AMD ThunderBird 1333@1400Mhz
256 NoName DDR Ram
40GB Seagate harddrive
Pure Gentoo LINUX!
Radeon 7500 128DDR
help me at:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum