Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Making XDM look good
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jurrie
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Mar 2004
Posts: 177
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2005 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yay, got it to work now, exactly the way I wanted it n_n (except the border around xclock.. any way to get rid of it?)

Waii (2560x1024, 568k png)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2005 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jurrie wrote:
Yay, got it to work now, exactly the way I wanted it n_n (except the border around xclock.. any way to get rid of it?)

Waii (2560x1024, 568k png)

Yeah, the '-bd <colour>' flag is how you set a border colour in xclock. It should work in other apps as well. Just use `appName --help` to see if it has it. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jurrie
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Mar 2004
Posts: 177
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2005 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

doh o_O I only read the man page and it didn't mention the -bd

thanks XD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hicksboson
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Oct 2004
Posts: 31
Location: Kiel, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mikegpitt wrote:
Is there anyway to include a sessions dropdown in xdm? I currently use KDM and use it to switch between desktop environments often.


I made a session-choser with xdialog, a gtk+1.x version of dialog. So you should first install this to use my script:
Code:

emerge xdialog


Here is the script that displays the session chooser (with radio buttons)
Code:

#!/bin/bash

## Set the File that stores the last Session
LastSession="/etc/X11/xdm/scripts/last_session"

## Get the last Session if present, otherwise try to get default Session from /etc/rc.conf
[ -f $LastSession ] && source $LastSession
if [ -n "${XSESSION}" ]; then
        DialogSessions=" ${XSESSION} $(echo "Last_(${XSESSION})") on"
else
        [ -f /etc/rc.conf ] && source /etc/rc.conf
        if [ -n "${XSESSION}" ]; then
                DialogSessions=" ${XSESSION} $(echo "Last_(${XSESSION})") on"
        fi
fi

## Get all available Session from /etc/X11/Sessions
for file in $(ls /etc/X11/Sessions/)
do
        DialogSessions="${DialogSessions} $file $file off"
done

## The Dialog itself
ChosenSession=$(/usr/bin/Xdialog --stdout --no-tags --radiolist "Select a Session:" 0 0 0 \
        $(echo "${DialogSessions}"))


## Write chosen Session to File
if [ -n "${ChosenSession}" ]; then
        echo "XSESSION=\"${ChosenSession}\"" > $LastSession
fi

You can put this for example in /etc/X11/xdm/scripst/session-chooser.
I load this script with a panel of three buttons for halt, reboot and the Session chooser (/etc/X11/xdm/scripts/buttons)
Code:
#!/bin/sh

# xmessage returns the number of the button plus 100 (so 101 for the first 102 for second ...)
/usr/X11R6/bin/xmessage  -geometry +0-0 -buttons halt,reboot,Session "$@" "" ""
case "$?" in
        101)
                /sbin/halt
                ;;
        102)
                /sbin/reboot
                ;;
        103)
                /etc/X11/xdm/scripts/session_chooser
                exec "$0"
                ;;
esac

To show the buttons in lower left corner of the screen add the followin line to your /etc/X11/xdm/Xsetup_0
Code:

/etc/X11/xdm/scripts/buttons &

and the following at the Start of /etc/X11/chooser.sh (to get the chosen session startet)
Code:

(...)
# If $XSESSION is "", source first /etc/conf.d/basic, and then /etc/rc.conf
if [ -z "${XSESSION}" ]
then
        [ -f /etc/conf.d/basic ] && source /etc/conf.d/basic
        [ -f /etc/rc.conf ] && source /etc/rc.conf

## This is the line you've got to add
        [ -f /etc/X11/xdm/scripts/last_session ] && source /etc/X11/xdm/scripts/

last_session
fi
(...)

You can change the appearance of the buttons in /etc/X11/xdm/Xresources with Xmessage*some_option for example to fit it whith Pwnz3r's theme add to Xresources
Code:

! Buttons Configuration
Xmessage*message.scrollVertical:        auto
Xmessage*message.scrollHorizontal:      never

Xmessage*Command.highlightThickness:    2
Xmessage*Command.internalWidth:         8
Xmessage*Command.internalHeight:        8
Xmessage*Command.shapeStyle:            rectangle
Xmessage*Command.font:  -*-bitstream vera sans-bold-r-*--20-*-*-*-*-*-iso10646-1

And at last to get rid of buttons, when you enter a session Add the following line to your /etc/X11/xdm/GiveConsole
Code:
/bin/killall xmessage


Ok, that was a lot of stuff, but it's realy nice and usefull and I hope it help to "downgrade" from gdm/kdm (for those who want):-)

Jojo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoVaN
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 Jul 2003
Posts: 666
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2005 9:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

...my 2 cents
picture: http://vovan.homelinux.org/files/screenshots/xdm.png
config: http://vovan.homelinux.org/files/xdm/

Some tips:
-if you'd like to have you favorite mouse pointer instead black cross put this in your Xsetup_0
Code:
/usr/X11R6/bin/xsetroot -cursor_name left_ptr

-if you don't like the default gray background during X startup, modify you Xservers as bellow:
Code:
:0 local /usr/X11R6/bin/X -nolisten tcp -br

(the important is -br, which changes background to black)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

VoVaN: You know, it was your post about this from 6 or so months ago that got me into the whole configuration of XDM. People did not like your design tastes as much though, so it kind of threw them off. :wink:

Also, I plan on making an alternative to the session chooser with Python using GTK2. I will get on that sometime when I get home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
suineg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Mar 2004
Posts: 200
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vovan, how did you get your directory listing to look like that, is that apache?

thanks for the config options...great stuff :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikegpitt
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 3200

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 6:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hicksboson,

Thanks for the scripts! I've had no time recently but I think I'll try them out soon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ares
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Oct 2003
Posts: 280
Location: Savigliano (CN)

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My shot
http://www.genbuild.org/gallery/view.php?gid=3&phid=0
_________________
My portage and homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hicksboson
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Oct 2004
Posts: 31
Location: Kiel, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To kill all those apps you startet with xdm (like xclock, xsetbg ...) at once you can add this line to your /etc/X11/xdm/GiveConsole
Code:

/usr/X11R6/bin/xwininfo -root -children | /bin/grep '  0x' |  /bin/cut -d' ' -f6 | /usr/bin/xargs -n1 /usr/X11R6/bin/xkill -id

With this you don't have to kill each app seperatly, so you can comment out all this "killall /some/prog" lines in your GiveConsole.

This is nothing for you, if want to keep anything running after you logged in. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
luna80
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 1061
Location: switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

very good tips!!

i'm trying to change the font of the login box but any different font from -*-snap-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-* work for me.

can somebody tell me why?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LucaSpiller
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Sep 2004
Posts: 188
Location: Censorship Land (aka England)

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I like those scripts hicksboson but I have a couple of problems:

If I add -bg white it reveals a strange box thingy above the buttons, I want to make the whole button set really small but this ends up covering them. :x So is there a way to remove it?

Also is there a way to change the theme on your chooser script?
_________________
:: Luca :: Mac Fag :: Original Macbook, 2g RAM :: Closet Linux user (seasoned with salt and pepper) :: C2D E4400 @ 2ghz, 4g RAM (only 3.2g detected under 64bit...), Nvidia 9600GSO ::
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Farkenell
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Dec 2003
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

doesn't .bashrc run everytime you start a terminal?

so you'd have it run startx everytime you open up *term?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ares
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Oct 2003
Posts: 280
Location: Savigliano (CN)

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 1:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

New with xcompmgr
http://www.genbuild.org/gallery/view.php?gid=3&phid=1
_________________
My portage and homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G3n2
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Aug 2004
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

can anyone tell me how to change the font ?
there's like a strange line with *--snap etc. is there any docu on how i might see all the fonts i have and how to add them correctly ?

because i want the artwiz-anorexia font , but i have no idea how to add it :)

any help is appreciated , thx

-g3n2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oxyron
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Aug 2004
Posts: 38
Location: Lithuania, Vilnius

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

G3n2, xfontsel can be used to generate font lines.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G3n2
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Aug 2004
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oxyron wrote:
G3n2, xfontsel can be used to generate font lines.


i found that out , but artwiz doesnt seem to be in the selection :S

it should be in the family box i guess , but it isnt ?

any ideas ?

i've emerged artwiz-fonts and artwiz-aleczapka-en
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ares
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Oct 2003
Posts: 280
Location: Savigliano (CN)

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xlsfonts '*artwiz*'
_________________
My portage and homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G3n2
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Aug 2004
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ares wrote:
xlsfonts '*artwiz*'


pattern artwiz unmatched
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ares
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Oct 2003
Posts: 280
Location: Savigliano (CN)

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@G3n2 : restart xfs and X ?
_________________
My portage and homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G3n2
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Aug 2004
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

did that :)

but still not working

any idea's ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G3n2
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Aug 2004
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

re-emerged artwiz-fonts , restarted the whole box just for fun , did an rc-update add xfs default for the font server , started the font server , it DOES read artwiz dir , but xfontsel AND xfontselector dont show the fonts , im stuck here . any idea's ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
luna80
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 1061
Location: switzerland

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

for me work only font that look like this:

-<series>-<font_name>-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*

for example: -misc-fixed-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*


if you have problems with fonts try to put a font like the above example.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
djpharoah
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Nov 2004
Posts: 186
Location: Irvine, California USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@G3n2
add the paths to the font u want to use in ur xorg.conf file
that way seems to automatically work for me

hope this helps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psyqil
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 May 2003
Posts: 2767

PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NME wrote:
can i get rid of the black borders around the term though?
This hasn't been answered yet, has it? I use
Code:
*Foreground: black
to let these lines disappear, you probably would want them white...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 5 of 8

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum