Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE/Freetype antialiased font rendering.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Sivar
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2002 1:40 am    Post subject: KDE/Freetype antialiased font rendering. Reply with quote

I very much like the antialiasing features of KDE as it makes fonts look vastly better than they do without...

...However, it seems that the font rendering could be a bit better. Now, I am no expert at font rendering, and I am sure that the powers that be (the programmers) know far more than I do and that there is probably a technical or legal reason thus far for the following problem (Adobe patent?), but I do have a comment:

Antialiased fonts rendered in X look as though they were antialiased using supersampling. I am probably oversimplifying things greatly, and font rendering uses many methods (hinting, for example), and supersampling does look great for some things, such as 3D games. For fonts, however, supersampling makes fuzzy and blurry parts of the font that should be entirely left alone. Example:

If you have a simple capitol letter "E"; one that has no curves but JUST straight vertical and horizontal lines making up the letter, its appearance should not be changed by the font AA engine. Antialiasing should only be performed on the edge of curved areas, such as the rounded part of the letter "P"
AA rendering in X, however, seems to apply filtering to the straight areas of characters as well. For example, as I type this, the right-most pixel of the lower case letter 'l' (lower case 'L') is an average of the white background and the black letter, thus making it dark gray rather than completely black.