PCMCIA woes
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Ribs
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Tue Jan 28, 2003 1:53 pm    Post subject: PCMCIA woes Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm fairly new to Linux, and Gentoo, so bear with me if I ask something stupid in the next few lines :)

I've tried to install Gentoo in a spare laptop I have in my room. I downloaded the full CD image for i686 (My laptop is a PII, so I think this is right). I decided to use stage3, as I'm too lazy/stupid to get from stage1/2 to stage3.

Anyway, I re-partitioned the hard drive, and booted from the CD fine. After setting a root password, I did as the motd told me and followed the readme, with a seperate terminal to run the commands in (Alt+F2).

The problem comes when I attempt to access the laptop's PCMCIA ports. I followed the guide, and entered what was required. However, after cardmgr is started, nothing happens to the network card in the slots. No lights, no beeps, nothing. In Windows, at least one of the lights comes on, as well as the speaker beeping.

I think the problem occurs when I run the "modprobe i82365" command. It reports something about not being able to find a IRQ for the slots, so it uses 255 (or 225, I can't remember, and I don't have the laptop with me right now to test). This is wrong, as Windows and the BIOS reports the IRQ to be 11 for those slots. However, it does say it's listening for two slots, which is re-assureing.

So I can only conclude that I somehow have to tell the i82365 module to use IRQ 11 or specfic memory addresses. This is where I get stuck, as I have no idea how to do this. Can anybody here point me in the right direction?

The model of the laptop is a Toshiba Tecra 8000.
bsolar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Tue Jan 28, 2003 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You were right. Look here: