Total SPARC noob here...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
racoontje
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 9:54 pm    Post subject: Total SPARC noob here... Reply with quote

Well, I always wanted to toy with something new, and SPARC looks like a great architecture if I want to toy with RISC. Unless someone would like to reccomend Alpha?

Anyway, for day to day desktop performance, what do you think would be a decent price for a SPARC? What kind of SPARC would I be looking at?
papal_authority
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SPARCstations and UltraSPARCs can be had for sub $100USD on eBay if you're willing to wait.
racoontje
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice! What sort of performance does this thing have when compared to CISC-processors like Intel Pentiums or AMD K7/K8's?

EDIT: What about a Sun Ultra 5?
papal_authority
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 10:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I always run Solaris on SPARCs but I did try SuSE with KDE on an Ultra 10 once (I think it was a IIi chip) and it ran at a decent clip.
racoontje
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why Solaris?
rsborn
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wait for an Ultra Sparc and don't pay over 100-120 bucks, you just have to be patient. If you really want a fair performance test, stick with a SCSI based SPARC. The Ultra5/10 are PCI based IDE bus machines and from what I have read, are not as fast as something like an Ultra2 which is still SCSI based drives. I will say that I run 2 Ultra 10's and seem very quick to me but my previous machines were SPARC 10's.