Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
wierd dependancy problem.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mrgalihad
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jan 2003
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2003 2:06 pm    Post subject: wierd dependancy problem. Reply with quote

Something wierd is going on with the state of emerge on my system. I'm trying to install kde. I've done an "emerge kde" but I get the following response:

Code:
kaynine root # emerge -p kdebase
 
 These are the packages that I would merge, in order:
 
 Calculating dependencies \
 !!! all ebuilds that could satisfy "~kde-base/kdelibs-3.1" have been masked.
 !!!    (dependency required by "kde-base/kdebase-3.1" [ebuild])
 
 !!! Error calculating dependancies. Please correct.
 


so I then did an "emerge kdelibs", and they installed fine, overnight. I came back this morning and tried "emerge kde" and "emerge kdebase" and they both give me the same error as above. Is there anyway I can see what this dependancy is that its complaining about and circumvent / fix it somehow? Thanks In Advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
humpback
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Oct 2002
Posts: 394
Location: Coimbra - Portugal

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2003 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try emerge rsync and then try again.. kdelibs 3.1 is nolonger masked either by packages.ask or in the ebuild.
_________________
Gustavo Felisberto
Humpback @ #gentoo-pt
------------
It's most certainly GNU/Linux, not Linux. Read more at
http://www.gnu.org/gnu/why-gnu-linux.html .
-------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrgalihad
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jan 2003
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2003 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still no go :(

At this point, I believe I have manually installed all the things that kdebase needs and have done an emerge --nodeps kdebase. Its been compiling for about 3 hours now, without any problems, so I might be safe. We'll see. I wonder if I'll run into that problem down the road though. (this is on sparc platform with ~sparc, in my ACCEPT_KEYWORDS, btw)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrgalihad
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jan 2003
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2003 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think that I might be on to something here, but I'm not sure how to fix it.

Code:
kaynine root # emerge -s kdebase
Searching...   
[ Results for search key : kdebase ]
[ Applications found : 1 ]
 
*  kde-base/kdebase
      Latest version available: 3.1
      Latest version installed: [ Not Installed ]
      Size of downloaded files: 14,538 kB
      Homepage:    http://www.kde.org/
      Description: KDE base packages: the desktop, panel, window manager, konqueror...


however...

Code:

kaynine root # emerge -s kdelibs
Searching...   
[ Results for search key : kdelibs ]
[ Applications found : 2 ]
 
*  app-doc/kdelibs-apidocs [ Masked ]
      Latest version available: 3.1
      Latest version installed: [ Not Installed ]
      Size of downloaded files: 10,134 kB
      Homepage:    http//developer.kde.org/
      Description: API documentation autogenerated from the kde-base/kdelibs package

*  kde-base/kdelibs
      Latest version available: 3.1_rc6
      Latest version installed: 3.1_rc6
      Size of downloaded files: 10,124 kB
      Homepage:    http//www.kde.org/
      Description: KDE libraries needed by all kde programs


Notice that the version of the kdelibs is only rc_6? I see that I do have ebuild in there for kdelibs-3.1 but it doesn't seem to find it. Where is it getting the idea that the 3.1libs don't exist??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aja
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Aug 2002
Posts: 705
Location: Edmonton, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2003 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you done the suggested
Code:

emerge sync

?

Your portage appears to be out of date.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrgalihad
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jan 2003
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2003 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, multiple times
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aja
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Aug 2002
Posts: 705
Location: Edmonton, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2003 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe it's mine that is out of date. I can'r re-sync from where I am, and mine is from about 20 hours ago. But I am showing v.3.1 (no rc stuff) for that library, and I have it installed. So yours seems older than mine unless the package has been downgraded or masked.

Anyone know if the package has been downgraded in the last day or so or can confirm current version in portage?

Did you try ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" emerge -p kdelibs ? (Be careful, that environment puts you into 'unstable' mode).

What server are you rsyncing from?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrgalihad
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jan 2003
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2003 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems to pick a different rsync server everytime I do it.

Anyway, I can't figure out why its doing that.

I found this to work though:

Code:

# ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86" emerge -p kde


show that it installes everything that I want just fine, so I'll run that to get kde on my sparc system. It'll probably work. (I'm doing this on an sparc platform) :? Oh well. [/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7729
Location: Underworld

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2003 10:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the keyword for sparc is ~sparc, I think, not ~x86.

It is masked as unstable for sparc.
_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aja
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Aug 2002
Posts: 705
Location: Edmonton, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2003 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whoa....

I've been assuming you were on x86 (my bad). The problem might be that KDE3.1 has not been declared stable for your platform.

DO NOT USE ~X86 ON A NON X86 PLATFORM

Use your own flag (check out man emerge - near the end), which should be ~sparc or ~sparc64, IIRC. If KDE3.1 shows up, then it is masked for sparc - use at your own risk. Might want to check out bugs.gentoo.org to see if there is something outstanding that you should worry about.

//edit - fixed URL
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aja
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Aug 2002
Posts: 705
Location: Edmonton, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2003 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=14837

Seems to offer hope...:-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrgalihad
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jan 2003
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2003 10:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, the fact that the ebuilds for kde3.1 are there for ~sparc, and all its depenacies (includeing kdelibs) make me thing it should work. Its just not seeing the ebuild file for libs. so doing the build pretending that its an x86 just for KDE shouldn't hurt anything, besides, the worst that can happen is it doesn't build. I'm not to terribly worried about it at this time, as its just a "play toy" I'm just wondering if I didn't stumble onto a portage bug....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum