Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
how to get ide-nodes in /dev/ for ide-scsi devices?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
chimaera
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jan 2003
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2003 12:00 am    Post subject: how to get ide-nodes in /dev/ for ide-scsi devices? Reply with quote

hi.. due to some difficulties with my board<->cdr or something else i don't know, i need to disable dma for my cdwriter. seems like devfs hides the ide nodes for ide-scsi devices and just shows the scsi-devs. unfortunately, hdparm isn't working with those.. any ideas?
_________________
take lots with alcohol..
jabber: chimaera@amessage.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7729
Location: Underworld

PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2003 1:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

use /proc/ide/{x}/settings (where {x} is hda, hdb, hdc, ... ) to access the interface

For example,

Code:

echo using_dma:0 >> /proc/ide/hdc/settings

_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chimaera
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jan 2003
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2003 1:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mhh seems do disable dma but not fixing my problems.. helloo mr. kernel patch. thanks anyway ;-7
_________________
take lots with alcohol..
jabber: chimaera@amessage.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sessionID
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Nov 2002
Posts: 266
Location: hungary

PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2003 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bloody Bastard wrote:
use /proc/ide/{x}/settings (where {x} is hda, hdb, hdc, ... ) to access the interface

For example,

Code:

echo using_dma:0 >> /proc/ide/hdc/settings


Could you tell me how to make this permanent?
(I need using_dma:1 btw.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7729
Location: Underworld

PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2003 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

put it in your /etc/conf.d/local.start

sessionID wrote:
Bloody Bastard wrote:
use /proc/ide/{x}/settings (where {x} is hda, hdb, hdc, ... ) to access the interface

For example,

Code:

echo using_dma:0 >> /proc/ide/hdc/settings


Could you tell me how to make this permanent?
(I need using_dma:1 btw.)

_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sessionID
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Nov 2002
Posts: 266
Location: hungary

PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2003 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, just did that :)

But shouldn't this be made by passig some options to the kernel/modules on boot?

Anyway, this seems to work, thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum