Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE/Mozilla failing with Athlon XP and KT333 chipset
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Yuber
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jan 2003
Posts: 139

PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2003 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

-JeaN- wrote:
Does it crash as well when you compile using -mcpu instead of -march in the CFLAGS ?


I dont know I don't have hours to waste trying all of that shit right now. I also think it'd be pretty retarded for _EVERYTHING_ else to compile fine with those humble options and mozilla to pitch a fit over it. If that was the case, the ebuild should disable optimizations if it would be a problem, like it does with winex or whatever.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
-JeaN-
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Nov 2002
Posts: 211
Location: PaRiS :D

PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2003 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yuber wrote:
I dont know I don't have hours to waste trying all of that shit right now. I also think it'd be pretty retarded for _EVERYTHING_ else to compile fine with those humble options and mozilla to pitch a fit over it. If that was the case, the ebuild should disable optimizations if it would be a problem, like it does with winex or whatever.


The problem is specific to some people (including you) cause for some others it works fine, "you don't have hours to waste trying all of that shit" but so is for ebuild creators don't throw them the stone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7729
Location: Underworld

PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2003 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please keep a constructive approach and avoid bashing people only because they are trying to help you.

Otherwise, this thread gets locked.
_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zadeh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Oct 2002
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2003 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've tried the exact flags/env/compile args that SQLboy used for his failure and had no problems. However, I can reproduce the -O3 -march=pentium4 issue with gcc-3.2.1-r6 on my system here:

Code:

locutis:/archive/tmp/portage/mozilla-1.2.1-r5/work/mozilla/js/src# gcc -o jsdtoa.o -c -DOSTYPE=\"Linux2.4\" -DOSARCH=\"Linux\" -DOJI -DEXPORT_JS_API  -DJS_USE_SAFE_ARENA   -I../../dist/include/js -I../../dist/include -I/archive/tmp/portage/mozilla-1.2.1-r5/work/mozilla/dist/include/nspr      -I. -I/usr/X11R6/include   -fPIC -I/usr/X11R6/include  -W -Wno-unused -Wpointer-arith -Wcast-align -Wno-long-long -march=pentium4 -pipe -pthread -pipe  -DNDEBUG -DTRIMMED -ffunction-sections -O3  -I/usr/X11R6/include -include ../../mozilla-config.h -DMOZILLA_CLIENT -Wp,-MD,.deps/jsdtoa.pp jsdtoa.c   
jsdtoa.c: In function `JS_strtod':
jsdtoa.c:1239: warning: `rv0' might be used uninitialized in this function
jsdtoa.c:1874: unable to find a register to spill in class `AREG'
jsdtoa.c:1874: this is the insn:
(insn:QI 2331 2330 2332 (set (reg:CCNO 17 flags)
        (compare:CCNO (and:SI (subreg:SI (reg/v:DI 21 rxmm0 [344]) 0)
                (const_int 1 [0x1]))
            (const_int 0 [0x0]))) 281 {testsi_1} (insn_list 2327 (nil))
    (expr_list:REG_DEAD (reg/v:DI 21 rxmm0 [344])
        (nil)))
jsdtoa.c:1874: confused by earlier errors, bailing out


If I change -march to something else it compiles fine (with the same warnings though, of course).

I don't think the two issues are related. This one is a compiler bug.

EDIT: The bug is reproducible both in mozilla-1.2.1-r5 and the latest nightly build.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zadeh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Oct 2002
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2003 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Heh this will teach me to read the existing bug databases more thoroughly next time. It's already a known regression, see http://gcc.gnu.org/cgi-bin/gnatsweb.pl?cmd=view%20audit-trail&database=gcc&pr=8994

and

http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=172618

And to reiterate, not the same problem the original poster had either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zadeh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Oct 2002
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2003 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

btw, it's the implied -msse2 switch that blows up gcc. So changing -march=pentium4 to -mcpu=pentium4 works fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yuber
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jan 2003
Posts: 139

PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2003 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zadeh wrote:
btw, it's the implied -msse2 switch that blows up gcc. So changing -march=pentium4 to -mcpu=pentium4 works fine.


Ok, I did that and now I just get a different error.

gmake[4]: Entering directory `/root/phoenix-source/mozilla/l10n/langpacks'
gmake[4]: Nothing to be done for `export'.
gmake[4]: Leaving directory `/root/phoenix-source/mozilla/l10n/langpacks'
gmake[3]: Leaving directory `/root/phoenix-source/mozilla/l10n'
gmake[3]: Entering directory `/root/phoenix-source/mozilla/toolkit'
gmake[3]: *** No rule to make target `export'. Stop.
gmake[3]: Leaving directory `/root/phoenix-source/mozilla/toolkit'
gmake[2]: *** [tier_9] Error 2
gmake[2]: Leaving directory `/root/phoenix-source/mozilla'
gmake[1]: *** [default] Error 2
gmake[1]: Leaving directory `/root/phoenix-source/mozilla'
gmake: *** [build] Error 2


I removed the mozilla/ directory and re-extracted the CVS even. I think the toolkit dir is messed... because I see abunch of not founds when I initially start the build
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yuber
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jan 2003
Posts: 139

PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2003 2:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lol, christ. I was forgetting to run the CVS checkout ;_; but yeah mcpu fixes it. now everyone concentrate on the man who posted this thread's problem... he's got some serious issues.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum