Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
--update world?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Utoxin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 411
Location: Springville, UT

PostPosted: Fri Apr 19, 2002 9:19 pm    Post subject: --update world? Reply with quote

The docs say that to update your entire box, you should run:
Code:
emerge --update world

But my emerge says that isn't a valid action. I also saw mention of a --search option, but mine also doesn't recognize that. I'm running 1.1a, just barely installed. Can anyone provide any insight?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grakker
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Fri Apr 19, 2002 9:24 pm    Post subject: world Reply with quote

Try
Code:
emerge -u world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tod
Developer
Developer


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 136
Location: Ozarks, USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 19, 2002 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!

Check which version of portage is currently merged. You might need to update sys-apps/portage .

hth

tod
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Utoxin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 411
Location: Springville, UT

PostPosted: Fri Apr 19, 2002 11:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, I'm not sure why they weren't showing up before, but I just checked again, and now the options are there. Thanks for the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum