Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
OpenVPN 2.x TAP mini-HOWTO (linux 2 wifi-linux, wifi-xp)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
cchee
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 1:44 am    Post subject: OpenVPN 2.x TAP mini-HOWTO (linux 2 wifi-linux, wifi-xp) Reply with quote

Background
In my attempt to setup OpenVPN for my network, I search through the forum and can't find much information on setting OpenVPN 2.0 using TAP, especially sample configuration file. Most of the HOWTO I found are related to TUN settings. The HOWTO from http://openvpn.sourceforge.net/ was helpful but since I am a newbie to openvpn. It took me a while to figure out how to get thing setup right. In the light of hoping to speed up the adoption of openvpn 2.0 ebuild into gentoo distribution (I love this distribution!!) and also hoping to help out newbie for OpenVPN (like I am) to save time. I have created this mini-HOWTO. Your constructive criticism/suggestion/feedback are most welcome, especially in the light of network security related configuration.

Simplified Server/Client Environment
The system I used for setup OpenVPN server is Gentoo Linux with kernel 2.6.8-r3 (which is gentoo-dev-sources-2.6.8-r3). Later kernel can also be used, the newest one I have used is gentoo-sources-2.6.11-r11. Make sure kernel has TAP/TUN compiled as module or build-in. If compiled as module, make sure you have tun in your /etc/module.autoload.d/kernel-2.6. Linux server/client OpenSSL version is 0.9.7d-r1 or newer version. For windows client, I used Windows XP with SP2 installed. This setup works regardless you are using wireless or not. In my case, Linux client is wired, and Windows XP client is wireless tablet pc.
OpenVPN server has external static IP in this setup.
Protected network: 10.2.0.0