Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
vga 16 framebuffer
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
AnonNomis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2003 8:49 am    Post subject: vga 16 framebuffer Reply with quote

Hello, I've been trying to get a vga frame buffer to work instead of the vesa framebuffer because intel says it doesn't work with the 815 chipset in my sony laptop.

http://support.intel.com/support/graphics/intel815/30483.htm#POS13

I compiled it in and it starts up with the boot logo but i can't get it to change resolutions. I want to up the res so that it matches the native res of my screen. Does anyone know how to change resolutions in the vga 16 framebuffer? I can't find any tables with values to pass into grub. I know with the vesa framebuffer you can pass in values like vga=791. Does the vga framebuffer have a similar option?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keratos68
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Dec 2002
Posts: 561
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2003 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try enabling "mode switching" in the kernel.
_________________
Someone told me that "..they only ever made one mistake...."

...and that's when they said they were wrong!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AnonNomis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2003 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, i have that enabled but I can't find anything that it will accept in the vga line. vga=??? Thanks

-Simon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keratos68
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Dec 2002
Posts: 561
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2003 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mmm, just check; reconfigure the kernel:

Select 'y' to CONFIG_EXPERIMENTAL

At the bottom of the config process, select

CONFIG_VGA_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_VIDEO_SELECT=y
CONFIG_FB=y
CONFIG_DUMMY_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_FB_VESA=y
CONFIG_FBCON_CFB8=y
CONFIG_FBCON_CFB16=y (The video card supports 16 bit colour @ 1024x768 res)
CONFIG_FBCON_CFB24=y (If you're feeling lucky)
CONFIG_FBCON_CFB32=y (This shouldn't work)
CONFIG_FONT_8x8=y
CONFIG_FONT_8x16=y

Save .config then COPY IT TO /usr/tmp/.config

Rebuild using:

make mrproper
cp /usr/tmp/.config .
make dep
make bzImage
make modules
make modules_install

Copy the new kernel to the correct place.

edit /etc/lilo.conf: In the proper image section, add the following line verbatim:

vga=0x303

You can get a larger console using vga=0x305 etc.

save/quit and run /sbin/lilo

Reboot. If it worked, you'll see a penguin and some diagnostic information in the 'vesafb' section (use dmesg to check).
_________________
Someone told me that "..they only ever made one mistake...."

...and that's when they said they were wrong!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AnonNomis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2003 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would love to try what you said but I'm not trying to use vesafb I'm
trying to use the vga16 framebuffer. Here is what my current .config
file has. I do get the tux logo on boot up with the vga16 framebuffer
but i can't change resolutions by passing in vga=0x303 or vga=0x305.
Both of these options result in a unknown video option being passed in
and I get a screen asking me to choose a font.

CONFIG_VGA_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_VIDEO_SELECT=y
CONFIG_FB=y
CONFIG_DUMMY_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_FB_VGA16=y (I'm using this because vesafb doesn't work on a intel 815 chipset)
CONFIG_VIDEO_SELECT=y
CONFIG_FBCON_VGA_PLANES=y
CONFIG_FBCON_ADVANCED=y
CONFIG_FBCON_CFB2=y
CONFIG_FBCON_CFB4=y (I believe this is what i'll be using for 16 colors)
CONFIG_FBCON_CFB8=y
CONFIG_FBCON_CFB16=y
CONFIG_FBCON_CFB24=y
CONFIG_FBCON_CFB32=y
CONFIG_FBCON_FONTS=y
CONFIG_FONT_8x8=y
CONFIG_FONT_8x16=y

Actually I'm beginning to question if this is even possible because of this table:

Colours 640x400 640x480 800x600 1024x768 1280x1024 1600x1200
--------+-----------------------------------------------------
4 bits | ? ? 0x302 ? ? ?
8 bits | 0x300 0x301 0x303 0x305 0x307 0x31C
15 bits | ? 0x310 0x313 0x316 0x319 0x31D
16 bits | ? 0x311 0x314 0x317 0x31A 0x31E
24 bits | ? 0x312 0x315 0x318 0x31B 0x31F
32 bits | ? ? ? ? ? ?

Its seems that 16 color at 1024x768 doesn't have a hex number, just a questionmark. Maybe it doesn't exist? I'm still not sure though since this table is for vesafb and not vga16 framebuffer.

Thanks again,
Simon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AnonNomis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2003 10:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then again my current resolution is 640x480 at 4 bit color which isn't on the table either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keratos68
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Dec 2002
Posts: 561
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2003 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mmm, ok - vga16 eh? What happens if you use the "vga=ask" argument? At boot time, you have the option to scan, the scan will return all the modes available, and I think that's your lot!!
_________________
Someone told me that "..they only ever made one mistake...."

...and that's when they said they were wrong!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AnonNomis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2003 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ya that comes up as a invalid option also but does list a bunch of fonts i can choose from. None of them change the resolution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keratos68
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Dec 2002
Posts: 561
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2003 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well , I'm afraid I can't help you - I've looked at the Kernel VGA framebuffer code and its quite simple - provided you've compiled the fonts and support into your kernel (not module) then I see no reason why it shouldnt work - just for this thread, Ive tried no less than four VGA cards on three types of kernel with all possible vga16 modes - NO PROBLEM!!

Sorry. :cry:
_________________
Someone told me that "..they only ever made one mistake...."

...and that's when they said they were wrong!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum