Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
IndexError when calculating world-deps
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
simon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Apr 2002
Posts: 225
Location: Vienna

PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2002 12:23 pm    Post subject: IndexError when calculating world-deps Reply with quote

I have some troubles to calculate world-deps on my Gentoo .1.4-box.
Code:

bea portage # emerge -pu world

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating world dependencies |Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 1523, in ?
    if not mydepgraph.xcreate(myaction):
  File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 698, in xcreate
    if not self.create(myk):
  File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 506, in create
    if not self.select_dep("/",mydep["/"],myparent=mp):
  File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 573, in select_dep
    mycheck=portage.dep_check(depstring,self.mydbapi[myroot])
  File "/usr/lib/python2.2/site-packages/portage.py", line 2223, in dep_check
    mylist=flatten(dep_listcleanup(dep_zapdeps(mysplit,mysplit2)))
  File "/usr/lib/python2.2/site-packages/portage.py", line 1979, in dep_zapdeps
    myresult=dep_zapdeps(unreduced[x],reduced[x])
  File "/usr/lib/python2.2/site-packages/portage.py", line 1963, in dep_zapdeps
    if unreduced[0]=="||":
IndexError: list index out of range
bea portage #


I have searched the forum and followed some tipps (emerge rsync, rebuild portage) but the problem still exists.

Versions:
sys-apps/portage-2.0.46-r4
dev-lang/python-2.2.2

Simon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sulu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 May 2002
Posts: 399
Location: Dornbirn/Austria

PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2002 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ups.

It might be a bug in "/usr/lib/python2.2/site-packages/portage.py.
An index error is definitely not your fault.

edit:
Your python seems to be th recent release.

Then you could debug the problem.
E. g. adding print-statements to check how it comes to this bad index.

Sulu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Apr 2002
Posts: 225
Location: Vienna

PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2002 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think, my python is up to date:
Code:

*  dev-lang/python
      Latest version available: 2.2.2
      Latest version installed: 2.2.2
      Size of downloaded files: 6,513 kB
      Homepage:    http://www.python.org
      Description: A really great language


und portage ebenso:
Code:

*  sys-apps/portage
      Latest version available: 2.0.46-r4
      Latest version installed: 2.0.46-r4
      Size of downloaded files: 147 kB
      Homepage:    http://www.gentoo.org
      Description: Portage ports system


Same versions work on two other machines quite well.

Simon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sulu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 May 2002
Posts: 399
Location: Dornbirn/Austria

PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2002 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm...


You do have enough space left on your disk?

There was a thread just recently where a bad index occured due to lack of disk space.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Apr 2002
Posts: 225
Location: Vienna

PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2002 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

diskspace should not be the matter:
Quote:

bea tmp # df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/hda3 251M 57M 181M 24% /
tmpfs 2.0M 24K 2.0M 2% /mnt/.init.d
/dev/system/usr 4.0G 2.1G 1.8G 55% /usr
/dev/system/var 496M 81M 390M 18% /var
/dev/system/tmp 1008M 204M 764M 22% /tmp
/dev/system/opt 985M 400M 535M 43% /opt
/dev/system/home 2.3G 428M 1.8G 20% /home
tmpfs 248M 0 248M 0% /dev/shm
jule:/home/pub/distfiles
9.9G 7.2G 2.2G 77% /usr/portage/distfiles

and
Quote:

PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/tmp"


Greetings 'ins Laendle".

Simon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sulu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 May 2002
Posts: 399
Location: Dornbirn/Austria

PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2002 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK. Lets narrow it down.

You have acces to your gentoo-box right now ?

emerge -p for a single package works ?

emerge -p system works ?

baselayout is recent ?


Sulu

PS: greetings from laendle to ??linz,graz,vienna,hinterstoder??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Apr 2002
Posts: 225
Location: Vienna

PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2002 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sulu wrote:
OK. Lets narrow it down.

You have acces to your gentoo-box right now ?

Yes

sulu wrote:

emerge -p for a single package works ?

Yes

sulu wrote:

emerge -p system works ?

Yes

sulu wrote:

baselayout is recent ?


Yes, just merged.

Simon

sulu wrote:

PS: greetings from laendle to ??linz,graz,vienna,hinterstoder??

to Vienna, where the sun is shining (at the moment)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sulu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 May 2002
Posts: 399
Location: Dornbirn/Austria

PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2002 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cant you ask simpler questions?

My head is aking allready.

So, your problem is confined to emerge -p world.

The error is the same as it was is your first post?

If this is true i thenthink it is a bug in portage.
An index error is a programming error. If you have no data the index must remain on its initial value. If you have to many or invalid data this must be handled separately. An invalid index should never occur.

Further testing:
At 18:00 i'll be at home and there's my gentoo-box.
Then we check how my box performs.
Maybe it has the same error (just did a major emerge yetsterday (system, kde 3.1,..)

Greetz to vienna

Sulu


Edit:
On my gentoo-box:

[root@andy-linux
> pts/2] emerge -p world

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating world dependencies ...done!
[ebuild U ] media-video/nvidia-kernel-1.0.3123-r2 [1.0.3123-r1]
:roll:

So, no problem on my box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nem0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Nov 2002
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2002 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems I have exactly the same problem. Latest python, latest portage, just dit emerge sync, rebuilt my portage, 1GB free in the portage TMP-dir, 1GB free where it stores the distfiles emerge -p works for a singel package and for system. But emere -pu world fails with:
Code:

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating world dependencies /Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 1523, in ?
    if not mydepgraph.xcreate(myaction):
  File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 698, in xcreate
    if not self.create(myk):
  File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 506, in create
    if not self.select_dep("/",mydep["/"],myparent=mp):
  File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 573, in select_dep
    mycheck=portage.dep_check(depstring,self.mydbapi[myroot])
  File "/usr/lib/python2.2/site-packages/portage.py", line 2223, in dep_check
    mylist=flatten(dep_listcleanup(dep_zapdeps(mysplit,mysplit2)))
  File "/usr/lib/python2.2/site-packages/portage.py", line 1979, in dep_zapdeps
    myresult=dep_zapdeps(unreduced[x],reduced[x])
  File "/usr/lib/python2.2/site-packages/portage.py", line 1963, in dep_zapdeps
    if unreduced[0]=="||":

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nbensa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jul 2002
Posts: 799
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2002 1:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same problem here...

emerge -pu world gives error
emerge -u world gives error
emerge -p world DOES NOT gives error
emerge -pu system DOES NOT gives error

Strange is I have two boxes sharing /usr/portage and this problem only manifests on one of them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nbensa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jul 2002
Posts: 799
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2002 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Solved. In my case, emerge was failing because of Ethereal. I've deleted net-analyzer/ethereal from /var/cache/edb/world, and then:

Code:
emerge -pu world


Ran flawless.

Then I did:

Code:
(I'm not sure if the following two steps are necesary.)
emerge -C ethereal
rm /var/cache/dep/net-analizer/ethereal*

emerge ethereal
emerge -pu world

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating world dependencies ...done!
[ebuild    U ] sys-apps/groff-1.18.1 [1.17.2-r3]
[ebuild    U ] sys-apps/man-1.5k-r1 [1.5k-r0]
[ebuild    U ] sys-apps/man-pages-1.53 [1.52-r0]
[ebuild    U ] sys-libs/lib-compat-1.1 [1.0-r2]



Problem gone.

Now, how did I trace it to be Ethereal? In these forums, I've found:

Code:
strace -eopen -f emerge -up world
('emerge strace' if you don't have it.)


Just before the emerge error there was a reference to Ethereal. Maybe you can do the same in your boxes.


HTH,
Norberto

PS: I know my English is really bad, permision is granted to correct my grammar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nem0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Nov 2002
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Jan 01, 2003 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you, that solved the problem indeed. Ethereal was the culprit here also.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Apr 2002
Posts: 225
Location: Vienna

PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2003 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nbensa wrote:
Solved. In my case, emerge was failing because of Ethereal. I've deleted net-analyzer/ethereal from /var/cache/edb/world, and then:


Hi nbensa,
thanks for the tip, removing ethereal from /var/cache/edb/world fixed it for me too.

Simon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum