installing emu10k1 (SB audigy)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Ntr0g3n
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Dec 25, 2002 8:06 am    Post subject: installing emu10k1 (SB audigy) Reply with quote

I hope this is accurate and helps some audigy users. If it doesn't, hey, I'm just a noob. I didn't want to wait for the fixed emu10k1 driver to properly support my audigy card. But thats just me.

I was having a hell of a time installing the emu10k1-0.20-r1 driver for use with my Audigy sound card. I was searching around looking for some helpful information, when I came across a couple of posts mentioning a bug in the latest emu10k1 ebuild and unresolved symbols errors. Sure enough, I received those errors as well when trying to install the latest emu10k1 driver. So I unmerged the latest emu10k1 ebuild and followed the steps below.

1. I went to opensource.creative.com...only to find a link to the emu10k1, which took me to this page http://sourceforge.net/projects/emu10k1
2. Clicking the download link for emu10k1 took me to this page http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=44773&release_id=113326
3. There I downloaded emu10k1-v0.19a.tar.bz2
4. unpacked emu10k1 (tar -xvjpf), compiled and installed the driver.
5. Wrote 1 line in /etc/modules.autoload alias sound emu10k1
6. Wrote another line in /etc/modules.d/aliases alias sound emu10k1
7. Ran modprobe emu10k1 and rebooted my system.
8. Cool, the module loaded.
9. ran xmms as , mounted MP3 drive, etc.
10. No sound? Hmm, damnit... I had aumix installed, opened aumix cranked all the settings to 100 percent and played an mp3...sound worked at this point, but something was wrong with my subwoofer...no bass.
11. I edited the emu10k1.conf located in the /etc directory and found this excerpt...

# Most Lives have their analog front signals inverted. If you have