Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Wireless configuration and startup - The Gentoo way
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 57, 58, 59  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
duhblow7
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi uberlord,

first off...great script, keep up the good work!!

i'm able to use the script when i don't turn on MAC filtering or WEP on my AP, but i would like some type of security. when i connect to my AP without WEP and MAC filtering, ssid = "TRON", it shows this:


Code:
tranquil oo7 # /etc/init.d/net.eth1 start
 * Running preup function
 *   Configuring wireless network for eth1
 *   Connecting to "troy" (WEP Disabled)...                                                  [ ok ]
 *     eth1 connected to "troy�9@a" at 00:0F:66:00:BD:FF
 *     in managed mode on channel 6 (WEP disabled)
 * Bringing eth1 up via DHCP...                                                              [ ok ]
 *   eth1 received address 192.168.1.5


why are there weird characters after my SSID name when i connect to the AP? Also because of this, when i try to define my 64bit 10 hex WEP key i cannot properly define it in /etc/conf.d/wireless.

when i turn on WEP and try:

Code:
essid_eth1="troy"
key_troy="3D-07-2C-A3-3B enc open"
preferred_aps=( "troy" )


i get the following output:

Code:
 * Running preup function
 *   Configuring wireless network for eth1
 *   Connecting to "troy" (WEP enabled)...                                                   [ ok ]
 *     eth1 connected to "troy�9@a" at 00:00:00:00:00:00
 *     in managed mode on channel 0 (WEP enabled)
 * Bringing eth1 up via DHCP...                                                              [ !! ]


i don't think i'm getting the AP MAC address because i'm not getting passed the encryption and therefore cannot get an IP. I am using static DHCP allocations based on my wireless MAC address. I am using the Linksys WRT54G router with Samadhi2 firmware. I have an Intel 2200 Pro wireless card with ipw2200 and ieee80211_crypt_wep modules loaded.

The following commands using iwconfig were able to authenticate my wireless network:

Code:
iwconfig eth1 essid troy
iwconfig eth1 key 3D072CA433B


thanks,

oo7
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

duhblow7 wrote:

why are there weird characters after my SSID name when i connect to the AP? Also because of this, when i try to define my 64bit 10 hex WEP key i cannot properly define it in /etc/conf.d/wireless.


OK - too many people have reported this.
Shame, as it's much easier to use iwgetid -r instead of parsing iwconfig.
Edit /etc/init.d/wireless and look for the function wireless_get_essid
Replace the line iwgetid with the code below
Code:
iwconfig ${1} 2>${devnull} | awk -F\" '/ESSID/ {print $2}'


Hopefully I will release a new version in a day or two
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
duhblow7
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if a lot of people have reported this, i bet it's caused by using 'hacked' firmware for the linksys routers. the most common firmware hacks for the linksys WRT54G 802.11b/g cable/dls router is called Samadhi2 and the linksys WAP54G access point is called Freya.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
duhblow7
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i tried the change you suggested. i still get an error:
Code:

tranquil root # /etc/init.d/net.eth1 start
 * Running preup function
 *   Configuring wireless network for eth1
 *   Connecting to "troy" (WEP enabled)...                                     [ ok ]
 *     eth1 connected to "troy" at 00:00:00:00:00:00
 *     in managed mode on channel 0 (WEP enabled)
 * Bringing eth1 up via DHCP...                                                [ !! ]
tranquil root # nano -w /etc/conf.d/wireless
tranquil root # /etc/init.d/net.eth1 start
 * Running preup function
 *   Configuring wireless network for eth1
 *   Connecting to "troy" (WEP Disabled)...                                    [ ok ]
 *     eth1 connected to "troy" at 00:0F:66:00:BD:FF
 *     in managed mode on channel 6 (WEP disabled)
 * Bringing eth1 up via DHCP...                                                [ ok ]
 *   eth1 received address 192.168.1.5


the first time i tried to start net.eth1 i had wep enabled and my /etc/conf.d/wireless looked like this:

Code:
essid_eth1="troy"
key_troy="s:3D-07-2C-A3-3B enc open"
preferred_aps=( "troy" )


the second time i disabled WEP on the router and removed the key_troy line and it connects fine. There was one time i started net.eth1 and got this:

Code:
tranquil root # /etc/init.d/net.eth1 restart
 * Running preup function
 *   Configuring wireless network for eth1
 *   Connecting to "troy" (WEP enabled)...                                     [ ok ]
 *     eth1 connected to "troy" at 00:0F:66:00:BD:FF
 *     in managed mode on channel 6 (WEP enabled)
 * Bringing eth1 up via DHCP...                                                [ !! ]


but i still wasn't able to get an IP. any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

duhblow7 wrote:
if a lot of people have reported this, i bet it's caused by using 'hacked' firmware for the linksys routers.


No - I saw it myself with early madwifi-drivers. And I know I haven't modded my AP in any way or form .....
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

duhblow7 wrote:

Code:
essid_eth1="troy"
key_troy="s:3D-07-2C-A3-3B enc open"
preferred_aps=( "troy" )



s: - implies an ASCII string
Try removing it
Code:
key_troy="3D-07-2C-A3-3B enc open"

_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
duhblow7
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i was trying with the s: and without it.

funny thing was when i was able to get my AP's MAC address and what seemed like i connected successfully with WEP i had it with the s:. Go figure. I'll keep my eye out for your updates.

oo7
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 6:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

duhblow7 wrote:
i was trying with the s: and without it.

funny thing was when i was able to get my AP's MAC address and what seemed like i connected successfully with WEP i had it with the s:. Go figure. I'll keep my eye out for your updates.


That's because your client WEP type is open. This allows connection even with an invalid WEP key ....
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hollowsoul
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Feb 2004
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Trying to set a Prism Duette in Master mode,
But complains, that eth5 doesnt support setting essid but i can set it with iwconfig??
Code:
 * Running preup function
 *   Configuring wireless network for eth5
 *   eth5 does not support setting ESSID to "Donnie Darko"
 * Failed to configure wireless for eth5
 * preup eth5 failed

tail -f /var/log/messages/current and got the following when i ran the script, any ideas what is wrong linux-2.6.9-rc1-mm4

Code:
Sep 13 10:46:19 [kernel] eth5: reset problem: no 'reset complete' IRQ seen
Sep 13 10:46:20 [kernel] eth5: timeout waiting for mgmt response
Sep 13 10:46:20 [kernel] eth5: mgt_commit_list: failure. oid=ff020008 err=-110
Sep 13 10:46:21 [kernel] eth5: timeout waiting for mgmt response
Sep 13 10:46:21 [kernel] eth5: mgt_commit_list: failure. oid=ff020003 err=-110
Sep 13 10:46:22 [kernel] eth5: timeout waiting for mgmt response
Sep 13 10:46:22 [kernel] eth5: mgt_commit_list: failure. oid=10000000 err=-110
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: timeout waiting for mgmt response
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgt_commit_list: failure. oid=17000007 err=-110
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgmt tx queue is still full
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgt_commit_list: failure. oid=19000001 err=-12
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgmt tx queue is still full
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgt_commit_list: failure. oid=10000002 err=-12
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgmt tx queue is still full
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgt_commit_list: failure. oid=19000004 err=-12
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgmt tx queue is still full
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgt_commit_list: failure. oid=12000000 err=-12
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgmt tx queue is still full
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgt_commit_list: failure. oid=12000001 err=-12
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgmt tx queue is still full
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgt_commit_list: failure. oid=12000002 err=-12
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgmt tx queue is still full
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgt_commit_list: failure. oid=12000004 err=-12
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgmt tx queue is still full
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgt_commit_list: failure. oid=12000005 err=-12
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgmt tx queue is still full
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgt_commit_list: failure. oid=12000006 err=-12
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgmt tx queue is still full
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgt_commit_list: failure. oid=12000007 err=-12
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgmt tx queue is still full
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgt_commit_list: failure. oid=12000003 err=-12
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgmt tx queue is still full
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgt_commit_list: failure. oid=150007e0 err=-12
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgmt tx queue is still full
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgt_commit_list: failure. oid=ff02000c err=-12
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgmt tx queue is still full
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgt_commit_list: failure. oid=ff020003 err=-12
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgmt tx queue is still full
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgt_update_addr: failure
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgmt tx queue is still full
                - Last output repeated 12 times -
Sep 13 10:46:23 [rc-scripts] eth5 does not support setting ESSID to "Donnie Dark o"
Sep 13 10:46:23 [rc-scripts] Failed to configure wireless for eth5
Sep 13 10:46:23 [kernel] eth5: mgmt tx queue is still full
                - Last output repeated 8 times -
Sep 13 10:46:23 [rc-scripts] preup eth5 failed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hollowsoul wrote:
Trying to set a Prism Duette in Master mode,
But complains, that eth5 doesnt support setting essid but i can set it with iwconfig??


Sounds like you have a similar problem to the others here
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=218289

I have this problem as well with my SMC2802W card :/
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bjchamb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 5:06 pm    Post subject: Loading Modules Reply with quote

Is there any way that I can have the script load the appropriate modules when I bring the interface up (and ideally unload them when I bring the interface down)? The reason I need this is because if the module loaded at boot time (for some reason) iwconfig fails to detect it. But if it is inserted after booting it works fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 5:56 pm    Post subject: Re: Loading Modules Reply with quote

bjchamb wrote:
Is there any way that I can have the script load the appropriate modules when I bring the interface up (and ideally unload them when I bring the interface down)?


https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?p=1468048&highlight=#1466600
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jrmfe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Sep 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey hello, sorry my bad english.

Thats a awesome script you made, congratulations!

Anyway, i have a sugestion you could implement and i'm almost sure more people would use it.

How about... a new config option:
lastscript_ESSID - for some ESSID, it would run a user made script or a shell command, but just when the interface is finally sucessfull configurated. The ideia is to allow post configuration after the interface is ready.

Ex: I would use like: lastscript_WiFi_IST="pptp-command start WiFi_IST"

I think is very usefull to start VPN client services and stuff like that.

Thanks for your time and pacience! :)
_________________
there, there... ^_^
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can use the postup() function in /etc/conf.d/net for that.
A global variable called ESSID is set when wireless config has been successful - so you can test against that.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

IMPORTANT ANNOUNCMENT

wireless config is now in portage in the sys-apps/baselayout-1.11.0 package
See the 1st post in this thread for installation instructions

Fixes - numerous

Changes
nameserver_ESSID="192.168.0.1" has been depreciated in favour of
nameservers_ESSID=( "192.168.0.1" "192.168.0.2" )
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sudrien
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Oct 2003
Posts: 207
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 12:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Launched warning-free after an

echo "ifconfig_wlan0=( \" dhcp \")" >> /etc/conf.d/net
(well, ifconfig_eth1 in my case)


This is good. :)



in a related note, the new base layout also includes an error related to "dm-crypt" - which I haven't figured out how to stop yet.

-Sud.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iverson0881
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jan 2004
Posts: 285
Location: CA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 5:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

New baselayout stuff working great here and loving it =)

I'm not getting any of those errors from the above post when running /etc/init.d/net.ath0 restart. I'll have to see if its different (it shouldn't be) whenever i feel like rebooting.

Thanks UberLord =) and the kind Gentoo devs =)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jrmfe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Sep 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, hello :)

UberLord wrote:
You can use the postup() function in /etc/conf.d/net for that.
A global variable called ESSID is set when wireless config has been successful - so you can test against that.


Ok, i followed your advice, i came up with this:

Code:
       
         # Wireless Network related user script
         eval script=\"\$\{startscript_${ESSID}\}\"

         [[ -n ${script} ]] && {
             einfo "  User defined start script for Wireless Network ${ESSID}"
             eval "${script}"
             eend $?
         }


I have startscript_WiFi_IST set in /etc/conf.d/wireless

However, this only works when i use "/etc/init.d/net.eth1 restart", that is, the interface must be allready running, and then i restart it.

This is odd, i found ESSID is only set when i have the interface restarted, i believe that wasnt your idea.

PS: What others global variable are set in the script?

MORE DEBUG INFO:

With:

Code:

postup () {
   echo "ESSID: ${ESSID}"
}


I start with eth1 down

Code:

laptop-jose conf.d # /etc/init.d/net.eth1 start

 * Running preup function
 *   Configuring wireless network for eth1
 *   Scanning for access points
 *     Found "WiFi_IST" at 00:60:B3:17:87:E2
 *   Connecting to "WiFi_IST" (WEP Disabled)... [ ok ]
 *     eth1 connected to "WiFi_IST" at 00:60:B3:17:87:E2
 *     in managed mode on channel 1 (WEP disabled)
 * Bringing eth1 up...
 *   eth1 dhcp [ ok ]
 *     eth1 received address 10.1.9.160
 *   Adding routes
 *     -host wifi.localnet eth1[ ok ]
 * Running postup function
ESSID:


Then i restart

Code:

laptop-jose conf.d # /etc/init.d/net.eth1 restart

 * Running predown function
 *   Removing wireless configuration from eth1... [ ok ]
 * Bringing eth1 down...
 *   Releasing DHCP lease for eth1 [ ok ]
 *   Stopping eth1 [ ok ]
 * Running preup function
 *   Configuring wireless network for eth1
 *   Scanning for access points
 *     Found "WiFi_IST" at 00:60:B3:17:87:E2
 *   Connecting to "WiFi_IST" (WEP Disabled)... [ ok ]
 *     eth1 connected to "WiFi_IST" at 00:60:B3:17:87:E2
 *     in managed mode on channel 1 (WEP disabled)
 * Bringing eth1 up...
 *   eth1 dhcp [ ok ]
 *     eth1 received address 10.1.9.160
 *   Adding routes
 *     -host wifi.localnet eth1 [ ok ]
 * Running postup function
ESSID: WiFi_IST


Anyway, if i have eth1 down and "/etc/init.d/net.eth1 restart", it doesnt set ESSID

Thanks for all!
_________________
there, there... ^_^
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jrmfe wrote:
Anyway, if i have eth1 down and "/etc/init.d/net.eth1 restart", it doesnt set ESSID


You're right!

I have a fix - find the wireless_configure() function and remove the word ESSID from the line starting with the word "local"
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nevil
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jul 2002
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 3:33 pm    Post subject: Problem working with pump Reply with quote

I'm having problems getting it to work with pump. I don't receive an IP address.
My config file looks like this
------
retries 3
device eth0 {
}

device wlan0 {
nodns
nogateway
}
------

Installed udhcp and it worked instantly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 4:09 pm    Post subject: Re: Problem working with pump Reply with quote

nevil wrote:
I'm having problems getting it to work with pump. I don't receive an IP address.

Installed udhcp and it worked instantly.


Well, that shows you have a working DHCP server.
Does pump --interface eth1 get an address? replace eth1 with your interface.

I have pump working - but I don't have a pump config file.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sudrien
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Oct 2003
Posts: 207
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sudrien wrote:

in a related note, the new base layout also includes an error related to "dm-crypt" - which I haven't figured out how to stop yet.

iverson0881 wrote:

I'm not getting any of those errors from the above post when running /etc/init.d/net.ath0 restart. I'll have to see if its different (it shouldn't be) whenever i feel like rebooting.


Yeah, I'm still getting used to not having to reboot... It's in /etc/init.d/checkfs

-Sud.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jrmfe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Sep 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberLord wrote:

I have a fix - find the wireless_configure() function and remove the word ESSID from the line starting with the word "local"

Fix confirmed :) now working as it should...

Thanks for all!
_________________
there, there... ^_^
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iverson0881
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jan 2004
Posts: 285
Location: CA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
 * Setting up dm-crypt mappings...
/sbin/runscript.sh: line 277: [: Failed to setup a mapping or swap device.: integer expression expected                                                   [ !! ]
/sbin/runscript.sh: line 296: return: Failed to setup a mapping or swap device.: numeric argument required


hehe nevermind then I'm getting it as well. Well I do have a swap partition assigned in fstab (i don't know if this is the same as the swap device) but it is there and hardly ever used.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sl70
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Jun 2002
Posts: 449
Location: Saitama, JP

PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 3:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks to Uberlord for the awesome script. However, I'm having problems getting two encryptions keys working. In the setup for my access point (a gentoo machine running hostap) I have:
Code:
iwconfig wlan0 essid SNL  key xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx  key yyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy


In /etc/conf.d/wireless I have:
Code:
key_SNL="[1] xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx  enc restricted [2] yyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy enc restricted"


But I found I can only get a connection if I include only one encryption key.

Here's what shows up in my log when I try with two keys:

Code:
Sep 17 21:34:39 nasubi eth0: authenticate with AP 00:09:5b:11:d0:c6 CHAN=3
Sep 17 21:34:39 nasubi eth0: TX authentication (alg=1 transaction=1 status=0 Success)
Sep 17 21:34:39 nasubi eth0: RX authentication (alg=1 transaction=2 status=0 Success)
Sep 17 21:34:39 nasubi eth0: TX authentication (alg=1 transaction=3 status=0 Success)
Sep 17 21:34:40 nasubi eth0: authentication with AP 00:09:5b:11:d0:c6 CHAN=3 timed out


The access point log shows this:
Code:
Sep 17 21:26:57 brian wlan0: 00:04:e2:83:f3:7c auth_cb - frame was not ACKed
Sep 17 21:31:57 brian wlan0: STA 00:04:e2:83:f3:7c did not ACK activity poll frame
Sep 17 21:31:58 brian wlan0: sending disassociation info to STA 00:04:e2:83:f3:7c(last=83576015, jiffi
es=83877015)
Sep 17 21:31:59 brian wlan0: sending deauthentication info to STA 00:04:e2:83:f3:7c(last=83576015, jif
fies=83878015)
Sep 17 21:31:59 brian wlan0: Could not find STA 00:04:e2:83:f3:7c for this TX error



( also tried it without the enc restrcted, and with various other little permutations but with no luck.) Am I doing something badly wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 57, 58, 59  Next
Page 58 of 59

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum