Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
BIN/CUE or ISO to HD
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
protege
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sun Dec 08, 2002 2:00 am    Post subject: BIN/CUE or ISO to HD Reply with quote

Is there a linux program to allow you to take a BIN or ISO cd image and instead of burning it to a cd, you decompress it to your HD instead of the cd?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
m0pr0be
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2002
Posts: 308

PostPosted: Sun Dec 08, 2002 2:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi,

if u got an .iso file just loop-mount it to some directory
Code:
mount -o loop /<path_to_iso> /mnt/<somedir>


if u got a .bin/.cue combination u need to convert the bin file to an iso image first. use bin2iso.

-Christoph
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
protege
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sun Dec 08, 2002 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried that and it kept telling me I needed to specify a fs type, so I tried mount /<path-to-iso> /mnt/iso -t iso9660 -o loop and it outputs

mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/loop1, or too
many mounted file systems.

It keeps outputting that error, any ideas, or like a website that has something on this, I searched for it some but didn't really know what to search for.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tuna
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2002
Posts: 485
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Sun Dec 08, 2002 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

maybe needs some loopback device support in the kernel? im not sure on that one, but i just saw somethling like that in the kernel options.. might be worth to take a look there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Delphiki
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2002
Posts: 337
Location: A2

PostPosted: Sun Dec 08, 2002 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was working on this same problem last night and I had loopback loaded as a module and could use something like the live-cd iso as a loopback device, but I could not use a file created by bin2iso (bin2iso really didn't work for me that well, bchunk worked better at getting the track I wanted but still couldn't be mounted for some reason). So I think the problem is that some isos for some reason or other just don't work well with loopback devices.
_________________
Excellent..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lx
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 1012
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Dec 08, 2002 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The filesystem(s) from the ISO probably aren't iso9660 compatible filesystem ( joliet only or mac, or game ), cause normally it automatically uses the correct fs and you don't need to specify the fs. Just try with a random file, it will output the same error.

Cya lX.
_________________
"Remember there's a big difference between kneeling down and bending over.", Frank Zappa
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
System_Failure
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2002
Posts: 63
Location: /home/System_Failure/

PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2002 3:21 am    Post subject: Read-only Reply with quote

Is there anyway to mount it so that you can write to it also?
_________________
"I like beaches."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paul138
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Aug 2002
Posts: 370
Location: Ottawa, ON

PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2002 4:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Simple:
Code:

emerge bchunk
...wait...
bchunk -v FILE.BIN FILE.CUE OUTPUT-FILE-BASE
...wait...
(as root)
mount -o loop /path/OUTPUT-FILE.iso /mnt/PATHNAME
ls /mnt/PATHNAME


bin files are from the WinOnCD program (I think that's what it's called) and they seem to scatter usenet quite a bit. Why people cant just rip to iso is beyond me.
_________________
Talk is cheap because supply always exceeds demand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OdinsDream
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Jun 2002
Posts: 1057

PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2002 4:37 am    Post subject: Re: Read-only Reply with quote

System_Failure wrote:
Is there anyway to mount it so that you can write to it also?


I haven't come across an easy way to do this. What's easier is to just mount it Read-Only, copy everything out to a directory, and then use mkisofs on the directory once you've made any changes you need.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum