Kernel Config Suggestion
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
gsfgf
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2002 11:26 pm    Post subject: Kernel Config Suggestion Reply with quote

Make the default kernel values closer to what would be used in everyday operation. I had to go through and change all these settings and it took several tries before i got it right. And it still doesn't work yet.
proxy
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2002 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the trick is the save a copy of the .config file in your home dir, and load it every time you want to build a new kernel. Then you just go through and have to make very minimal changes ;)
SirronD

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2002 2:25 am    Post subject: Rather than one default how about a set? Reply with quote

I am new to gentoo, and I switched after several hears as a Mandrake "only" linux user.

The hardest part (for me) of the gentoo installation was the kernel configuration. There are too many options for the novice user.

Most of my problems with gentoo are traced to improper kernel configuration, and I have compiled and recompiled my kernel (12 times in a 1 week period). And as soon as I finish this post I will be reconfiguring and compiling yet again.

Why not have a series configs of for different situations? I would suggest 2 configs per different source (gentoo, xfs, vanilla, ...) One config for laptops and one for desktops.

In my case I have a laptop with XFS filesystems. And I still have yet to get a compile that actually "turns off" my system after shutdown. I'm sure it is a config issue.

I believe starting with a default config for laptops with the XFS sources would have solved many of the issues I have had.
klieber
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2002 1:00 pm    Post subject: Re: Rather than one default how about a set? Reply with quote