Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Booting Gentoo on Netra T105
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
alexbuell
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 474
Location: "Hemp"shire, UK

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2002 9:45 am    Post subject: Booting Gentoo on Netra T105 Reply with quote

I'm having problems booting Gentoo on a Netra T105, using an external SCSI CDROM. I can get to the page where it tells me how to mount the CDROM, and chroot. Problem is that I can't type anything in at the console, but I can see the output.

Here's what I used to boot Gentoo:

boot cdrom1 ramdisk serial console=ttyS0

What am I doing wrong?

Many thanks,
Alex.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kumba
Developer
Developer


Joined: 16 Jul 2002
Posts: 382
Location: Sigma 957

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2002 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You might take a look at this thread, as I traded posts with a user named "xming" who installed on a Netra T1. I believe you'll want to boot the system with the flag "init=/bin/sh", which should drop you to a sh shell to do your work.

--Kumba
_________________
"The past tempts us, the present confuses us, the future frightens us. And our lives slip away, moment by moment, lost in that vast, terrible in-between."
--Emperor Turhan, Centauri Republic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xming
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2002
Posts: 434

PostPosted: Thu Sep 19, 2002 8:18 pm    Post subject: Netra T1 console install Reply with quote

Yes, you should take a look, I have a updated guide with some correction, I will post it tomorrow,

xming
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alexbuell
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 474
Location: "Hemp"shire, UK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 20, 2002 5:46 am    Post subject: Yep! Reply with quote

That works! Sadly, if I use nano to edit stuff, it looks screwy on the miniicom terminal I'm usung on the LOM a port!

Cheers,
Alex.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alexbuell
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 474
Location: "Hemp"shire, UK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 20, 2002 7:10 am    Post subject: Re: Yep! Reply with quote

alexbuell wrote:
That works! Sadly, if I use nano to edit stuff, it looks screwy on the miniicom terminal I'm usung on the LOM a port!


Okay, I followed the instructions and got as far as scripts/bootstrap.sh, when I got this error:

ACCESS DENIED open_wr: /dev/console
ACCESS DENIED open_wr: /dev/console
...
...
!!! emerge aborting on ..

What's wrong?

Cheers,
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alexbuell
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 474
Location: "Hemp"shire, UK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 20, 2002 7:53 am    Post subject: Re: Netra T1 console install Reply with quote

xming wrote:
Yes, you should take a look, I have a updated guide with some correction, I will post it tomorrow,


I'd like to see that soon, it might resolve the funny problem with emerge.

Cheers,
Alex.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xming
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2002
Posts: 434

PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2002 3:31 pm    Post subject: Well here it is, sorry for the delay Reply with quote

Code:

gentoo on sparc64 (netra T1)

iso 1.1

ramdisk init=/bin/sh

ifconfig eth0 x.x.x.x netmask y.y.y.y broadcast z.z.z.z
route add default gw w.w.w.w

(net1=eth0, net0=eth1)



/sbin/devfsd /dev -np
/etc/init.d/rcS

fdisk
mkswap /dev/sda5
swapon /dev/sda5

mkdir /mnt/cdrom
mount /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom
mount -o bind /proc /mnt/cdrom/root-sparc64/proc
chroot /mnt/cdrom/root-sparc64
cd /sbin
./mkreiserfs
exit



cd /mnt
mkdir gentoo
mount /dev/sda2 /mnt/gentoo
cd /mnt/gentoo
mkdir boot usr var
mount /dev/sda1 boot
mount /dev/sda4 usr
mount /dev/sda6 var

wget http://152.2.210.81/pub/Linux/distributions/gentoo/releases/build/.1.4/sparc64/stage1-sparc64-1.4.tbz2

bzip2 -cd stage1-sparc64-1.4.tbz2 | tar xvf -
mount -o bind /proc /mnt/gentoo/proc

chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
date -s
tar jxfp stage1-sparc64-1.4.tbz2
source /etc/profile
nano /etc/resolv.conf
emerge sync
emerge rsync

CHOST=sparc-unknown-linux-gnu

nano -w /etc/make.conf FEATURES="-sandbox"

cd /usr/portage
scripts/bootstrap.sh
export CONFIG_PROTECT=""
emerge system

emerge vanilla-sources
cd /usr/src/linux
make menuconfig
make dep;amke clean;make vmlinux;make modules

emerge syslog-ng
rc-update add syslog-ng default

emerge vcron
rc-update add vcron default

emerge reiserfsprogs


cd /etc
ln -sf ../usr/share/zoneinfo/Europe/Brussels localtime
nano -w /etc/hostname
nano -w /etc/hosts
nano -w /etc/conf.d/net
rc-update add net.eth0 default
rc-update add sshd default

nano -w /etc/rc.conf
emerge silo
cp /usr/src/linux/vmlinux /boot
cd boot
gzip -9 vmlinux
nano -w /etc/silo.conf
mkdir /boot/etc
cp /etc/silo.conf /boot/etc
silo -C /boot/etc/silo.conf

nano -w /etc/make.conf FEATURES="sandbox"

---reboot---


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tebers
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Apr 2002
Posts: 115
Location: Germany, Kirchheim near Munich

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2002 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nice and fast doc :-)
can you supply please your partition table and your silo.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xming
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2002
Posts: 434

PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2002 12:20 am    Post subject: ok Reply with quote

I will do that tomorrow @ work

xming
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xming
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2002
Posts: 434

PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2002 10:14 am    Post subject: here they are Reply with quote

partitioning

Code:
fdisk -l /dev/sda

Disk /dev/sda (Sun disk label): 19 heads, 248 sectors, 7506 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 4712 * 512 bytes

   Device Flag    Start       End    Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1             0        30     70680   83  Linux native
/dev/sda2  u         30       247    511252   83  Linux native
/dev/sda3             0      7506  17684136    5  Whole disk
/dev/sda4  u        247      3724   8191812   83  Linux native
/dev/sda5  u       3724      4169   1048420   82  Linux swap
/dev/sda6          4169      7506   7861972   83  Linux native


silo.conf in /boot/etc/silo.conf

Code:

# basic silo.conf example
timeout=5
partition=1
root=/dev/sda2
read-only
image=/boot/vmlinux-2.4.20-pre10-sparc.gz
      label=linux
image=/boot/vmlinux-2.4.20-pre10.gz
      label=2420
image=/boot/vmlinux.gz
      label=2419



EDIT: I added /etc/fstab

Code:

/dev/sda1               /boot           ext2            noauto,noatime          1 1
/dev/sda2               /               reiserfs        noatime                 0 0
/dev/sda4               /usr            reiserfs        noatime                 0 0
/dev/sda6               /var            reiserfs        noatime                 0 0
/dev/sda5               none            swap            sw                      0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0      /mnt/cdrom      iso9660         noauto,ro               0 0
proc                    /proc           proc            defaults                0 0

# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink). Adding the following
# line to /etc/fstab should take care of this:
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will use almost no
#  memory if not populated with files)

tmpfs                   /dev/shm        tmpfs           defaults                0 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tebers
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Apr 2002
Posts: 115
Location: Germany, Kirchheim near Munich

PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2002 10:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks,

well i still dont get my system loaded.

I have this config
Code:

/dev/hda1       boot   starting at block 0 ..... x
/dev/hda2       swap  x....y
/dev/hda3       whole disk 0......End
/dev/hda4       y.... end

filesystems

1    ext2
2    swap
3    ...
4  reiserfs


i still get at the prom
Code:
the file just loaded does not seem to be executable


and then I enter at the prom
Code:
boot disk


and have silo up and silo tells me then
Code:
cannot open filesystem

at the silo promopt I then enter
Code:
1/vmlinuz

ans starts uncompressing and quits with
Code:
the file does not fit into ....


The kernel are the 2. 4.20-pre 10 sparcs.
Any hints what to do ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xming
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2002
Posts: 434

PostPosted: Sat Nov 16, 2002 10:12 pm    Post subject: kernel size Reply with quote

how g big is the kernel? Is it compressed manually with gzip?

xming
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tebers
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Apr 2002
Posts: 115
Location: Germany, Kirchheim near Munich

PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2002 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well uncompressed the kernel was something with 3,67mb and i zipped it manually with gzip -9 ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blademan
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Oct 2002
Posts: 116

PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2002 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xming,

I used your docs, which works much better than the install docs, so far. I am stuck right after I chroot into /mnt/gentoo. At this point, I have lost networking. Dhcpcd and ifconfig return command not found.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xming
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2002
Posts: 434

PostPosted: Sun Nov 24, 2002 3:50 pm    Post subject: chroot Reply with quote

did you untared the stage1 into the right dir? Normally the network stays up after chroot. What might be possible too is the numbering of ethx dose not match the physical numbering,

hope this helps

xming
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xming
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2002
Posts: 434

PostPosted: Sun Nov 24, 2002 3:56 pm    Post subject: cannot load Reply with quote

@terbers; try to modulize your kernel a bit more, reduced the siz vmlinux to 1,5mb (uncompressed)

xming
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ali_abedi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Oct 2004
Posts: 25
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi are eth0 and eth1 different network cards on a Netra T1. When I boot I can bring up eth0, but I get a message saying no such device for eth1. Wierd but I thought both used the Happy Meal drivers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ali_abedi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Oct 2004
Posts: 25
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi are eth0 and eth1 different network cards on a Netra T1. When I boot I can bring up eth0, but I get a message saying no such device for eth1. Wierd but I thought both used the Happy Meal drivers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum