Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ALSA and snd-pcm-oss / snd-mixer-oss
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cmay4
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 May 2002
Posts: 109

PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2002 12:56 am    Post subject: ALSA and snd-pcm-oss / snd-mixer-oss Reply with quote

I am having some problems getting ALSA installed correctly. I followed the desktop guide, which I know is somewhat out-of-date. However, I thought I had things working, until I started to get complete system lock-ups. I eventually started taking things out, until I realized that if I put snd-via8233 or snd-pcm-oss or snd-mixer-oss into /etc/modules.autoload, then I was getting an error message on boot after the modules were loaded that 'ALSA was already loaded'. So I took those modules out of the autoload file, and ALSA initialized just fine. However, I didn't have oss support. If I type:

modprobe snd-pcm-oss
modprobe snd-mixer-oss

after boot, then everything works fine, and I don't seem to be getting lock-ups anymore.

Is there a was I can have those modules loaded automatically without using the /etc/modules.autoload? Is there a way to get /etc/init.d alsasound to load those two modules as well?

Thanks for any help,

Chuck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 16104
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2002 1:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interesting. I get the 'ALSA was already loaded' message too, but sound works, if not as good as under Win2K.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cmay4
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 May 2002
Posts: 109

PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2002 2:15 am    Post subject: Hmmm... Reply with quote

If you are only using the ALSA (and not OSS), then just remove the lines from modules.autoload. Everything works fine (and it evens "remembers" the mixer settings.

I am really stumped on the OSS stuff though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cmay4
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 May 2002
Posts: 109

PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2002 4:04 am    Post subject: Ok...I got it. Reply with quote

After furthur reading in the forums (I somehow missed this one the first time around), I found this thread:

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=1849&highlight=snd+pcm+oss+modprobe

It still seems like a hack, but at least it works. Thanks to everyone.

Chuck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum