View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall
View previous topic :: View next topic  
lanark
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sat Nov 09, 2002 1:00 pm    Post subject: Gentoo Musicians Reply with quote

I know KiTaSuMbA is a musician. And also french tony. I'm a musician myself.
Any other Gentoo musician out there?
What are your experiences? What soft are you using?
Are you a [frustrated] win user, at last to some extent, using VST or any other non-linux technology?
Are you a Gentoo-only musician? If that last is true... HOW DO YOU DO IT??

How about a Gentoo-for-musicians effort, with tips, ebuilds ad hoc, share music, share ideas, making collective music, etc?
Lovechild
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Sat Nov 09, 2002 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know OpenBSD has a tradition of releasing a song alongside the OS.

What are the chances we could convince some Gentoo musicians to do the same?
KiTaSuMbA
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sat Nov 09, 2002 1:41 pm    Post subject: Re: Gentoo Musicians Reply with quote

lanark wrote:
How about a Gentoo-for-musicians effort, with tips, ebuilds ad hoc, share music, share ideas, making collective music, etc?

Let me get started with that bag of gold (errr, apps) I downloaded and I'll give feedback on both good and bad events... HW and SW configuration and perhaps a HOW-TO for using some of the apps.
About sharing music: how about making a "The Gentoo Soundtrack: emerging music" CD? Catchy title... It doesn't necessarily have to be of a definite style, but contributions of gentoo musicians.

Actually metalhead was asking for suggestions over soundcards for HD recording with his band, so I guess you can count him too.

Edit: a technicality: I believe the most appropriate licensing for such an effort would be OSL (Open Sound License) - in-tune with Free Software!
chrispy
Apprentice
Apprentice