Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Acer Aspire 1501/1511LMI
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
GoodStuff
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 15
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2004 6:00 pm    Post subject: Acer Aspire 1501/1511LMI Reply with quote

Hi! I would like to know if someone have success to install gentoo on these notebook, i would like to buy one of them but i don't know if is correctly supported. Theorically, everything shoudl work. But i don't really see confirmation on google.

Someone have problem with these notebook? What do you think about?

Thanks all :)

PS: And i forget, what kind of acceleration you use for the video card is these notebooks? (FX 5700 GO/Radeon 9600 mobility - 64mo)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dangertools
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 278
Location: Saalfelden, Austria

PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2004 7:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have a 1501Lmi but till now I'm working with Gentoo 32bit. This runs fine, I have only some problems with the keyboard ( it happens that some buttos hang during input) and with the synaptics ( it works fine but sometimes it "jumps").

Gentoo 64bit works good, in some parts better than the 32bit version, but without wireless lan i am not able to use it.

in 64bit i use the xorg builtin driver and in 32bit the ati-drivers. ( i had some troubles with getting the 3d-acceleration in 32bit because i had built the agp-modules from via and from amd64 but it runs only with the amd64-agp)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deepspace9
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 214
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2004 8:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, here, gentoo amd64 works like a charm on the 1501 :). No 3D accel yet, and no WLAN, but the rest works fine (sound only oss at the moment). It kicks butt with my dual MP 2000+ on several fronts :twisted: .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jparal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2004 7:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
This runs fine, I have only some problems with the keyboard ( it happens that some buttos hang during input)

I have same problem in 64bit.
Is there anyone who solved this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dangertools
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 278
Location: Saalfelden, Austria

PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2004 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

could this be a configuration problem? in winXP it doesn't happen and i don't think that it happens without X.
in my dmesg there are always again some messages like this:

atkbd: unknon key released

has anyone an idea how to solve?

schurl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RAPUL
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Dec 2002
Posts: 664
Location: Valencia (SPAIN)

PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2004 5:40 pm    Post subject: Success on Acer Aspire 1513LMi Reply with quote

Hi people,

I got enough success installing an Acer Aspire 1513LMi.

I am trying to write a nice: "howto install gentoo on a Acer Aspire 1513LMi" but nowdays it is only a idea. :P

If you have any problems. Ask maybe i solved it or maybe i still have it.

I run two systems: (32 and 64 bits)
[BOTH]
acpi working i had to recompile my DSDT (and patch kernel to load it) to get battery information. I fixed some lines of it and comment the others which gave compilation errors (sounds bad, but works).
acpi events, temperature, battery, cpufreq working.
acpi fan not working
suspend standby and reboot works.
suspend to mem is not working. suspend to disk not tested.
X running via xorg
kernel: gentoo-dev-sources
sound, usb, [ethernet] working.
pcmcia and firewire not tested.
synaptics: basic mouse events are working but buttons 4,5,6,7 don't.

[64 BITS]
Using default amd64 cflags.
nvidia works
no wlan (i cannot emerge ndiswrapper).

[32 BITS]
Using athlon-xp with sse2 cflags.
glibc compiled with nptl.
nvidia hangs system when loading module. :(
wlan working using ndiswrapper.
Some acer hot keys working, mapped by hand (setkeycodes, xmodmap and kde bindings)

I need lan so i normally run on the 32 bits one.
[/b]
_________________
Entropy rulz world.
Redundancy sux.
World is full of redundancy.
World sux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dangertools
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 278
Location: Saalfelden, Austria

PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2004 6:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

maybe i had success stopping the hanging keyboard.

i had a lot of messages in dmesg like this:

Jun 7 20:59:10 baerbel atkbd.c: Unknown key released (translated set 2, code 0xe0 on isa0060/serio0).
Jun 7 20:59:10 baerbel atkbd.c: Use 'setkeycodes e060 <keycode>' to make it known.

So i tried what the message said

$ setkeycodes e060 255

where 255 is a keycode which is hopefully not set on something different. i had not enough time to test completely but perhaps it helps.


schurl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RAPUL
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Dec 2002
Posts: 664
Location: Valencia (SPAIN)

PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2004 12:38 pm    Post subject: My experience Reply with quote

1) I used setkeycodes to capture key events and i assigned them some random numbers. Later i checked they weren't in use with xev and xmodmap.

I put this in my /etc/init.d/local
Code:

# Load keys
setkeycodes e073 120
setkeycodes e074 121
setkeycodes e025 125
setkeycodes e026 126
setkeycodes e027 127


2) Then i used xev in X to see which xmodmap code is done every time i push a special keyboard key.

3) I used xmodmap assigning some codes an Xevent such as XF86WWW or XF86Mail for web and mail buttons. And put a script in my .kde/Autostart to get kde loads.

/home/user/.xmodmaprc
Code:

keycode   8 =
keycode   9 = Escape
keycode  10 = 1 exclam bar exclamdown bar exclamdown
keycode  11 = 2 quotedbl at oneeighth at oneeighth
keycode  12 = 3 periodcentered numbersign sterling numbersign sterling
keycode  13 = 4 dollar asciitilde dollar asciitilde dollar
keycode  14 = 5 percent onehalf threeeighths onehalf threeeighths
keycode  15 = 6 ampersand notsign fiveeighths notsign fiveeighths
keycode  16 = 7 slash braceleft seveneighths braceleft seveneighths
keycode  17 = 8 parenleft bracketleft trademark bracketleft trademark
keycode  18 = 9 parenright bracketright plusminus bracketright plusminus
keycode  19 = 0 equal braceright degree braceright degree
keycode  20 = apostrophe question backslash questiondown backslash questiondown
keycode  21 = exclamdown questiondown asciitilde asciitilde asciitilde asciitilde
keycode  22 = BackSpace Terminate_Server
keycode  23 = Tab ISO_Left_Tab
keycode  24 = q Q at Greek_OMEGA at Greek_OMEGA
keycode  25 = w W lstroke Lstroke lstroke Lstroke
keycode  26 = e E EuroSign cent EuroSign cent
keycode  27 = r R paragraph registered paragraph registered
keycode  28 = t T tslash Tslash tslash Tslash
keycode  29 = y Y leftarrow yen leftarrow yen
keycode  30 = u U downarrow uparrow downarrow uparrow
keycode  31 = i I rightarrow idotless rightarrow idotless
keycode  32 = o O oslash Ooblique oslash Ooblique
keycode  33 = p P thorn THORN thorn THORN
keycode  34 = dead_grave dead_circumflex bracketleft dead_abovering bracketleft dead_abovering
keycode  35 = plus asterisk bracketright dead_macron bracketright dead_macron
keycode  36 = Return
keycode  37 = Control_L
keycode  38 = a A ae AE ae AE
keycode  39 = s S ssharp section ssharp section
keycode  40 = d D eth ETH eth ETH
keycode  41 = f F dstroke ordfeminine dstroke ordfeminine
keycode  42 = g G eng ENG eng ENG
keycode  43 = h H hstroke Hstroke hstroke Hstroke
keycode  44 = j J
keycode  45 = k K kra ampersand kra ampersand
keycode  46 = l L lstroke Lstroke lstroke Lstroke
keycode  47 = ntilde Ntilde asciitilde dead_doubleacute asciitilde dead_doubleacute
keycode  48 = dead_acute dead_diaeresis braceleft braceleft braceleft braceleft
keycode  49 = masculine ordfeminine backslash backslash backslash backslash
keycode  50 = Shift_L
keycode  51 = ccedilla Ccedilla braceright dead_breve braceright dead_breve
keycode  52 = z Z guillemotleft less guillemotleft less
keycode  53 = x X guillemotright greater guillemotright greater
keycode  54 = c C cent copyright cent copyright
keycode  55 = v V leftdoublequotemark grave leftdoublequotemark grave
keycode  56 = b B rightdoublequotemark apostrophe rightdoublequotemark apostrophe
keycode  57 = n N
keycode  58 = m M mu masculine mu masculine
keycode  59 = comma semicolon horizconnector multiply horizconnector multiply
keycode  60 = period colon periodcentered division periodcentered division
keycode  61 = minus underscore dead_belowdot dead_abovedot dead_belowdot dead_abovedot
keycode  62 = Shift_R
keycode  63 = KP_Multiply XF86_ClearGrab
keycode  64 = Alt_L Meta_L
keycode  65 = space
keycode  66 = Caps_Lock
keycode  67 = F1 XF86_Switch_VT_1
keycode  68 = F2 XF86_Switch_VT_2
keycode  69 = F3 XF86_Switch_VT_3
keycode  70 = F4 XF86_Switch_VT_4
keycode  71 = F5 XF86_Switch_VT_5
keycode  72 = F6 XF86_Switch_VT_6
keycode  73 = F7 XF86_Switch_VT_7
keycode  74 = F8 XF86_Switch_VT_8
keycode  75 = F9 XF86_Switch_VT_9
keycode  76 = F10 XF86_Switch_VT_10
keycode  77 = Num_Lock Pointer_EnableKeys
keycode  78 = Scroll_Lock
keycode  79 = KP_Home KP_7
keycode  80 = KP_Up KP_8
keycode  81 = KP_Prior KP_9
keycode  82 = KP_Subtract XF86_Prev_VMode
keycode  83 = KP_Left KP_4
keycode  84 = KP_Begin KP_5
keycode  85 = KP_Right KP_6
keycode  86 = KP_Add XF86_Next_VMode
keycode  87 = KP_End KP_1
keycode  88 = KP_Down KP_2
keycode  89 = KP_Next KP_3
keycode  90 = KP_Insert KP_0
keycode  91 = KP_Delete KP_Decimal
keycode  92 =
keycode  93 = Mode_switch
keycode  94 = less greater bar brokenbar bar brokenbar
keycode  95 = F11 XF86_Switch_VT_11
keycode  96 = F12 XF86_Switch_VT_12
keycode  97 = Home
keycode  98 = Up
keycode  99 = Prior
keycode 100 = Left
keycode 101 =
keycode 102 = Right
keycode 103 = End
keycode 104 = Down
keycode 105 = Next
keycode 106 = Insert
keycode 107 = Delete
keycode 108 = KP_Enter
keycode 109 = Control_R
keycode 110 = Pause Break
keycode 111 = Print Sys_Req
keycode 112 = KP_Divide XF86_Ungrab
keycode 113 = ISO_Level3_Shift Multi_key
keycode 114 =
keycode 115 =
keycode 116 = XF86Launch0
keycode 117 = XF86Launch1
keycode 118 =
keycode 119 =
keycode 120 =
keycode 121 =
keycode 122 =
keycode 123 =
keycode 124 = ISO_Level3_Shift
keycode 125 = NoSymbol Alt_L
keycode 126 = KP_Equal
keycode 127 = NoSymbol Super_L
keycode 128 = NoSymbol Hyper_L
keycode 129 =
keycode 130 =
keycode 131 =
keycode 132 =
keycode 133 =
keycode 134 = XF86Mail
keycode 135 =
keycode 136 =
keycode 137 =
keycode 138 =
keycode 139 = XF86WWW
keycode 140 =
keycode 141 =
keycode 142 =
keycode 143 =
keycode 144 =
keycode 145 =
keycode 146 =
keycode 147 =
keycode 148 =
keycode 149 =
keycode 150 =
keycode 151 =
keycode 152 =
keycode 153 =
keycode 154 =
keycode 155 =
keycode 156 = NoSymbol Meta_L
keycode 157 =
keycode 158 =
keycode 159 =
...
keycode 253 =
keycode 254 =
keycode 255 =


/home/user/.kde/Autostart/xmodmap.sh
Code:

#!/bin/bash
#
/usr/X11R6/bin/xmodmap ~/.xmodmaprc


4) I linked that keys to konqueror and kmail using kde key bindings. (kcontrol \ ... )

It's a little hack but it works.
_________________
Entropy rulz world.
Redundancy sux.
World is full of redundancy.
World sux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gebner
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jan 2004
Posts: 100
Location: Wien, EU

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 11:55 am    Post subject: Re: Acer Aspire 1501/1511LMI Reply with quote

GoodStuff wrote:
I would like to know if someone have success to install gentoo on these notebook, i would like to buy one of them but i don't know if is correctly supported. Theorically, everything shoudl work. But i don't really see confirmation on google.


I've got a 1501Lmi in 64-bit mode and it works very well (kernel 2.6.7-rc2-mm2). Sound works using ALSA (modprobe snd-via82xx dxs_support=4), network (ethernet) works, suspend-to-ram doesn't work, cpufreq works, though I haven't got bluetooth, irda or the cardreaders to work yet. But it runs on battery for more than 3 hours.

GoodStuff wrote:
Someone have problem with these notebook? What do you think about?


The typical 64-bit issues: no ndiswrapper, no ati-drivers for now, GHC doesn't work (at least here), NHC98 doesn't work, SableVM doesn't work (at least here), the synaptics touchpad driver segfaults (at least here though it works fine with 32-bit).

GoodStuff wrote:
PS: And i forget, what kind of acceleration you use for the video card is these notebooks? (FX 5700 GO/Radeon 9600 mobility - 64mo)


man 4 radeon (from Xorg)
Someone's working on free DRI support, but I'm afraid the ati-drivers could be out before it's working (they just recently managed to get rid of immediate lockups).
_________________
clue = if 0 == 0 then clue else error "The poster didn't have any clue when he posted this."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RAPUL
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Dec 2002
Posts: 664
Location: Valencia (SPAIN)

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 4:46 pm    Post subject: Key bindings Reply with quote

I have improved by key bindings. I add them if someone is interested.

/home/users/.xmodmaprc

Code:

...
keycode 115 = XF86Launch2
keycode 116 = XF86Launch3
keycode 117 = XF86Launch4
keycode 134 = XF86Launch1
keycode 139 = XF86Launch0
keycode 160 = XF86AudioMute
keycode 174 = XF86AudioLowerVolume
keycode 176 = XF86AudioRaiseVolume
keycode 178 = XF86WWW
keycode 236 = XF86Mail
...


Final key binding is done with kde key bindings.

So now i have a button for konqueror (www) and another one for kmail(Mail).
Volume gets controlled by three buttons (+,-,mute).
And customized 5 more buttons for:
Konsole (P1), Firefox(P2), Kcontrol(Fn+F1), Kvim(Fn+F2) and anjuta (Fn+F3).

The only button not working now is the suspend one but suspend does not work so it is not very important then. :P
_________________
Entropy rulz world.
Redundancy sux.
World is full of redundancy.
World sux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GoodStuff
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 15
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can't we use DRI? I see a Aspire 1511LMI, is that possible to get acceleration on this? This is a FX 5700 Go 64Mb.

I'm hesitate, 1501/1511. I think i'll decide for the 3D Acceleration :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RAPUL
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Dec 2002
Posts: 664
Location: Valencia (SPAIN)

PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 12:06 pm    Post subject: Hmm... Reply with quote

Aspire 1501 has an ati radeon 9700.
Aspire 1511 has an Geforce 5700Go.

Ati Radeon 9700 is better than Geforce 5700Go but linux amd64 nvidia linux support is much better than ati.

So choose whatever you want.

I bought an Acer 1513 and i am glad of my decision.
_________________
Entropy rulz world.
Redundancy sux.
World is full of redundancy.
World sux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
[::Shansa::]
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 2:53 pm    Post subject: some more questions... Reply with quote

Hello all... Thanks for this appetitizing thread ;)

I'm looking forward to get an Acer 1513, but I'm still hesitating for mainly one reason. I get different informations from different sources, and I still can't be sure about what the screen resolution is. 1024x768 or 1400xsomething ? Thanks very much for any answer...

Also, is it noisy? or overheating in any way?? It sure looks like a very good laptop, but it seems too great to be true at such a low cost ;)

Also a last question: did you get a 3200+ or a 3400+ ? I also get contradictive info on that topic. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RAPUL
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Dec 2002
Posts: 664
Location: Valencia (SPAIN)

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 4:35 pm    Post subject: Re: some more questions... Reply with quote

[::Shansa::] wrote:
Hello all... Thanks for this appetitizing thread ;)

I'm looking forward to get an Acer 1513, but I'm still hesitating for mainly one reason. I get different informations from different sources, and I still can't be sure about what the screen resolution is. 1024x768 or 1400xsomething ? Thanks very much for any answer...


I bought it in Spain. And ACER Aspire 1513LMi here has a 1024x768 screen (15'').

Quote:

Also, is it noisy? or overheating in any way?? It sure looks like a very good laptop, but it seems too great to be true at such a low cost ;)


It is a little noisy when in full load but cpufreqd work very well so when i surf, code programs and listen to music CPU goes to 800MHz and i don't use even 10% of the CPU. So, then it is not noisy.

Compiling kde makes fan blow a lot... :P

About temps... Well it will depend a lot on your country as always but my notebook temperatures goes from 26-65ºC.
Under normal load temperature does not go up from 32ºC.

I normally use hold my notebook over my legs watching TV and i can stand that heat.

Quote:

Also a last question: did you get a 3200+ or a 3400+ ? I also get contradictive info on that topic. Thank you.


Well, ACER Spain says:
1511 LMi is 3200+
1513 LMi is 3400+

Also you may want to know it has a DVD+/-RW. ACER Spain says DVDRW Dual which is a liitle confusing.

I have rewritten DVDRWs upto a speed of 2.4X and written CDs upto 16X. So i suppose it has:

Code:

DVD+/-R  4X????
DVD+/-RW   2.4X
CDR           16.0X
CDRW         ????


I have to buy DVD+Rs or DVD-Rs to test more. :D

More doubts?
_________________
Entropy rulz world.
Redundancy sux.
World is full of redundancy.
World sux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deepspace9
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 214
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just tested the compile speed by compiling thinderbird 0.6. My 1501, 3000+ 4200 rpm disk, 786 mem, is way faster than my dual MP 2000+, 1 Gig, software SCSI RAID 0 (2x Maxtor 10K4's) :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
odondor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 4
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My Acer1501 LMi is running full 64-bit since the beginning.

The only problem was to realize that -march=athlon-xp in the CFLAGS is not a good idea.

As for the key locking, I hadn't time to check out the solutions proposed above, but I noticed that simply desactivitng the key repetition feature in the KDE settings solved the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dangertools
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 278
Location: Saalfelden, Austria

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 7:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
As for the key locking, I hadn't time to check out the solutions proposed above, but I noticed that simply desactivitng the key repetition feature in the KDE settings solved the problem.


i think that this is just a configerror in kde. i turned the time up to 600ms and left the repeatrate at 30/s. i think now it runs and i still have my keyboard repeating the way i like it



dangertools
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Carmine
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 10:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since I'm also an an ACER 1501LMi, I would like to know
if there's someone here that has successfully built a gentoo from
Stage1 and Minimum Install CD for AMD64 (2004.1).

I've succeeded once, with many difficulties in bootstrapping (and after).
Now, I'm stuck, it doesn't finish bootstrap (nor bootstrap-2.6) .

I've also tried from Stage2 and it fail compiling Xorg-r1 and gcc-3.3.3-r6.

Memtest86 reports no error and so does badblocks.

Can anyone post its CFLAGS and USE settings please?

Mines are:

CFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"
USE="java"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RAPUL
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Dec 2002
Posts: 664
Location: Valencia (SPAIN)

PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 6:57 pm    Post subject: ACER 1513 Reply with quote

If someone has an ACER 1511/1513 i have successfully finished my 32 bits install. 64 bits install only lacks wifi (ndiswrapper issues... win64 drivers lack) and some programs.

Today i installed new nvidia-drivers which solved my lockup when modprobing nvidia-kernel.
As nvidia said it was a nvidia-kernel issue which will be intended to be solved with new driver release.

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=192262

Well next step is get my bcm94306 in my 64bits install. By the moment it works vith ndiswrapper and win32 drivers in my 32bits install.

Code:

0000:02:08.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM94306 802.11g (rev 03)

_________________
Entropy rulz world.
Redundancy sux.
World is full of redundancy.
World sux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vyzivus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 173
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2004 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anybody out there that was succesfull capturing the mail,browser,p1,p2 buttons on 1501LMi? I had stopped X, tried the showkey command but it seems that these keys does not generate any keycodes at all.
Quote:
Jun 7 20:59:10 baerbel atkbd.c: Unknown key released (translated set 2, code 0xe0 on isa0060/serio0).
Jun 7 20:59:10 baerbel atkbd.c: Use 'setkeycodes e060 <keycode>' to make it known.

No sign of these messages, but my keyboard behaves strangely sometimes: the key is repeated after i release the button etc.
_________________
I thought what I'd do was, I'd pretend I was one of those deaf-mutes or should I?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dangertools
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 278
Location: Saalfelden, Austria

PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2004 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

these special keys don't generate any keycodes, they generate acpi-events. in a 32bit environment there is the acerhk package which enables the special keys of acer travelmates and aspires. this software also recognizes the special leds (like the wlan and bluetooth) of the laptops. i have tried to compile it in 64bit environment but it didn't work. assemblerproblems :(.

the messages about the keyboardproblems don't appear in 64bit but the keyboard hangs although. i am now working with gnome, not with kde anymore, and the same problem happens. so i have turned up the delay to repeat a key so it works better.

@RAPUL:
i have bought a prism based SMC 2835W cardbus wlancard. works perfect. i'll never by again hardware which has something from broadcom built in. even intel has released specs for there centrino wlan-modules. and the prism has much better connectionquality than the BCM with the built in antenna :)

if i could run my radeon 9600 with dri now it would be perfect but this will need some time i think :(


dangertools
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vyzivus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 173
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2004 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd like to see dri support also. But I'm curious: www.ati.com says that they will never contain drivers for ati mobility cards. I don't expect Acer to release linux driver either. So, do you think that ordinary ati radeon 64 bit driver shall work, or we just have to wait for an opensource 64bit driver?
_________________
I thought what I'd do was, I'd pretend I was one of those deaf-mutes or should I?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dangertools
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 278
Location: Saalfelden, Austria

PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2004 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

till now my xorg is running with the radeon driver and if ati evr releases useable 64bit drivers we just have to take the desktop ones. in 32bit it is the same


dangertools
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nigelhannam
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2004 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For anyone interested, I replaced the wireless module with one of these:

http://www.sparklan.co.uk/view_product.php?product=WL-850F

This is a prism54 based mini pci card, and works fine under 64bit.

The module is accessible from the top of the laptop by removing the two light grey hinge covers, then the black plastic bit with the power / wireless etc keys.

Didn't run into any problems except for forgetting to add the new mac address to the access control list on my AP!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dangertools
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 278
Location: Saalfelden, Austria

PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have found a BIOS-upgrade for the aspire 1500 series on the panamerican acer website to version 1.06. this update is not available on the european acer website and it has to be installed via DOS. i have upgraded my bios a few minutes ago and the laptop still works as before. i have built a complete image with a dos bootdisk with cd-rom support. you just have to start the *.bat file on the cdrom and it should upgrade your bios. laptop has to be plugged into AC and the battery has to have more than 30% capacity. perhaps it resolves some of the problems with this laptop for non americans. the batchfile doesn't save the old bios. if something doesn't work don't blame on me but as i said my laptop works still fine. Perhaps it helps resolving some issues with this laptop, e.g. the tick-problem as mentioned in this thread http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=191716 or some other things.

Here the iso for burning a cdrom

http://members.inode.at/g.schild/DIV/BootDiskAspire1501V106.iso


dangertools
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum