Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Macromedia Flash 7 for Linux released
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jay
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 980

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2004 3:14 pm    Post subject: Macromedia Flash 7 for Linux released Reply with quote

Finally it is available:
http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash&P2_Platform=Linux
_________________
Do you want your posessions identified? [ynq] (n)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Niek
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 236
Location: Houten, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2004 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jeeeeeeeeeehaaaa :D

At last :D Downloading it right now :)
Hopefully the audio-video sync problems are fixed.
_________________
Bezoek ook eens de Nederlandstalige Gentoo IRC channel op irc.freenode.net - #gentoo-nl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codergeek42
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 5142
Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2004 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

<edited>
_________________
~~ Peter: Brony, GNU/Linux geek, caffeine addict, and Free Software advocate.
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF


Last edited by codergeek42 on Tue Aug 02, 2005 5:11 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Niek
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 236
Location: Houten, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2004 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, here are my experiences:

* Installation can be done by copying libflashplayer.so and flashplayer.xpt to /opt/netscape/plugins
* GFlashPlayer seems to be gone
* Audio/video sync problems are gone :)
* It is _really_ fast, rendering is a lot faster, CPU usage dropped enormously
* It's now working as it should in Firefox/Mozilla with GTK2 build (bugzilla)
_________________
Bezoek ook eens de Nederlandstalige Gentoo IRC channel op irc.freenode.net - #gentoo-nl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cwt137
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Jul 2003
Posts: 99
Location: Southern California

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2004 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

all we need now is a shockwave player an ill be happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keffin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Posts: 202
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2004 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

8) 8) 8) 8)
_________________
Always cut the deck if it ups your odds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keli
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Posts: 210
Location: TgMures, RO

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2004 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just noticed: Gentoo is a "supported operating system" at Macromedia 8)

see here: http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/alternates/#footnote-2

[for now, that's of course only for the version 6 player, but still :) ]
_________________
"The future masters of technology will have to be lighthearted and intelligent. The machine easily masters the grim and the dumb."
Marshall McLuhan, 1969
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hauser
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Dec 2003
Posts: 650
Location: 4-dimensional hyperplane

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ebuild, ebuild, ebuild... I'm anxious to get you! :P
_________________
AMD Athlon XP 2600+; 512M RAM;
nVidia FX5700LE; Hitachi 120Gb
2.6.9-nitro4, reiser4, linux26-headers+nptl

Do I like to compile everything?
Positive definite!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cwt137
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Jul 2003
Posts: 99
Location: Southern California

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 4:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

why when it's so easy to install?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zerojay
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Aug 2003
Posts: 1033

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 7:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can also confirm that it works perfectly under Konqueror as well. If you don't have Mozilla installed (or one of it's deriviatives), you'll have to install things manually, which isn't difficult as outlined earlier in the thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hauser
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Dec 2003
Posts: 650
Location: 4-dimensional hyperplane

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 7:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cwt137 wrote:
why when it's so easy to install?

You're right, I used to do it manually. Gosh! I guess I'm terribly spoilt by portage! :oops:
_________________
AMD Athlon XP 2600+; 512M RAM;
nVidia FX5700LE; Hitachi 120Gb
2.6.9-nitro4, reiser4, linux26-headers+nptl

Do I like to compile everything?
Positive definite!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jan 2004
Posts: 68
Location: Vienna, Austria

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Niek wrote:

* It is _really_ fast, rendering is a lot faster, CPU usage dropped enormously
* It's now working as it should in Firefox/Mozilla with GTK2 build (bugzilla)

same experiences here :)
firefox used to crash on some flash sites, problem seems to be gone now :mrgreen:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Skrot
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 141
Location: Adelaide, Australia

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No such luck for me with the audio/video sync problem :(. If anything it seems worse than version 6.

*sigh*
_________________
You will release your mind.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genneth
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Mar 2003
Posts: 152
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
inherit nsplugins

S=${WORKDIR}/install_flash_player_7_linux
DESCRIPTION="Macromedia Shockwave Flash Player"
SRC_URI="mirror://macromedia/install_flash_player_7_linux.tar.gz"
HOMEPAGE="http://www.macromedia.com/"

SLOT="0"
KEYWORDS="x86 -*"
LICENSE="Macromedia"

RDEPEND="!net-www/gplflash"

RESTRICT=nostrip

src_install() {
   exeinto /opt/netscape/plugins
   doexe libflashplayer.so

   insinto /opt/netscape/plugins
   doins flashplayer.xpt

   inst_plugin /opt/netscape/plugins/libflashplayer.so
   inst_plugin /opt/netscape/plugins/flashplayer.xpt

   dodoc readme.txt
   dohtml ReadMe.htm
}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zerojay
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Aug 2003
Posts: 1033

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Skrot wrote:
No such luck for me with the audio/video sync problem :(. If anything it seems worse than version 6.

*sigh*


If you are using Konqueror, uncheck the Pipe sound through arts checkbox in the plugins tab. Things go out of sync slightly at times, but it's a lot better than it used to be.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
utopyr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Oct 2003
Posts: 27
Location: Several Georgias

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Utter groovyness--the Flash plugin had always crashed Firefox/Firebird/Phoenix for me before, on several distributions, no matter the method of installation. Finally, I don't have to switch to MS for Homestar Runner.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmercer
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Nov 2002
Posts: 95
Location: Newfoundland, Canada

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since I've installed flash 7 the videos at http://www.jerry.digisle.tv/room.html are without sound and at 2x the speed. Anyone else have this problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jay
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 980

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jmercer wrote:
Since I've installed flash 7 the videos at http://www.jerry.digisle.tv/room.html are without sound and at 2x the speed. Anyone else have this problem?


Works just perfectly here as it should be. Currently tested with mozilla 1.6 and firefox 0.8
_________________
Do you want your posessions identified? [ynq] (n)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmercer
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Nov 2002
Posts: 95
Location: Newfoundland, Canada

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, good to know there is a solution. This computer (my office computer) is flaky anyway, I'll try on my computer at home after work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lunarg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jan 2004
Posts: 508
Location: Peer, Belgium

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hopefully it's better than its Windows-variant...... (And don't tell me you don't have any problems with it, b/c then you haven't really visited flash sites....)
_________________
Registered linux user #341804
Visit Black Manticore: http://www.blackmanticore.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flyinspirit001
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2004
Posts: 266
Location: localhost,localdomain

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wow @ the end i installed :P
_________________
"Ride the infinity, be your best. For you, for all"
Dungeon01 - linux registered user #362502
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Skrot
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 141
Location: Adelaide, Australia

PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2004 1:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DarkStalker wrote:
Skrot wrote:
No such luck for me with the audio/video sync problem :(. If anything it seems worse than version 6.

*sigh*


If you are using Konqueror, uncheck the Pipe sound through arts checkbox in the plugins tab. Things go out of sync slightly at times, but it's a lot better than it used to be.
No, I'm using firefox. On the homestar runner main pages, the sounds for the buttons on the left are *really* delayed now, whereas they used to be nearly fine. The sbemails start out fine now, but get WAY out of wack a bit further down the line... :/

Could a reboot of my computer fix it? I guess I'll try it just in case...
_________________
You will release your mind.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
prower
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2003
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2004 2:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having the exact same problem actually, which is frustrating..since at first it seemed like there was a huge improvement. Unfortunately the audio sync gradually fell out of place, as you described :/

Skrot wrote:
DarkStalker wrote:
Skrot wrote:
No such luck for me with the audio/video sync problem :(. If anything it seems worse than version 6.

*sigh*


If you are using Konqueror, uncheck the Pipe sound through arts checkbox in the plugins tab. Things go out of sync slightly at times, but it's a lot better than it used to be.
No, I'm using firefox. On the homestar runner main pages, the sounds for the buttons on the left are *really* delayed now, whereas they used to be nearly fine. The sbemails start out fine now, but get WAY out of wack a bit further down the line... :/

Could a reboot of my computer fix it? I guess I'll try it just in case...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Skrot
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 141
Location: Adelaide, Australia

PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2004 4:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah... :/ I restarted and no dice... I'm hoping its just some problem with old settings or something. Seems unlikely though.
_________________
You will release your mind.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genb0y
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2004 6:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.
The fonts in the flash movies are anti-aliased.
But I don't want those to be anti-aliased.

What should I do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum