Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
No rcX.d directories
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gsfgf
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 1266

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2002 11:44 am    Post subject: No rcX.d directories Reply with quote

I'm installing vmware and it asked for the location of the inid directories (rc0.d/ to rc6.d/). I don't have these. I ran search and nothing came up. Shouldn't they be in /etc/rc.d ? /etc/rc.d also doesn't exist. How do i setup these?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klieber
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 3657
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2002 11:54 am    Post subject: Re: No rcX.d directories Reply with quote

gsfgf wrote:
I'm installing vmware and it asked for the location of the inid directories (rc0.d/ to rc6.d/).


These directories don't exist in Gentoo because Gentoo uses a different type of init system. Check out the Init System docs for more information about how it works.

As far as getting vmware to install, you might be able to fool it by using symlinks that point to /etc/runlevels/default, but that's a total SWAG. Give it a try and, if it works, let us know.

--kurt
_________________
The problem with political jokes is that they get elected
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gsfgf
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 1266

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2002 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK so how do i install vmware. I assume tricking the installer by creating empty dirs will not work and there is no vmware ebuild in portage.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klieber
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 3657
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2002 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gsfgf wrote:
OK so how do i install vmware. I assume tricking the installer by creating empty dirs will not work and there is no vmware ebuild in portage.


???

klieber wrote:
As far as getting vmware to install, you might be able to fool it by using symlinks that point to /etc/runlevels/default, but that's a total SWAG. Give it a try and, if it works, let us know


--kurt
_________________
The problem with political jokes is that they get elected
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
underactive
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2002 6:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

there's a vmware ebuild...

Code:

$ emerge -s vmware
[ Results for search key : vmware ]
[ Applications found : 1 ]

*  app-emulation/vmware-workstation
      Latest version Available: 3.1.1.1790
      Latest version Installed: 3.1.1.1790
      Homepage: http://www.vmware.com/products/desktop/ws_features.html
      Description: Emulate a complete PC on your PC without the usual
      performance overhead of most emulators.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum