Cannot access /dev/agpgart in kernel config
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
GrizzlyAdams
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2004 2:23 am    Post subject: Cannot access /dev/agpgart in kernel config Reply with quote

OK, let me preface this by saying I am a complete noob to both Gentoo and Linux. I am trying to Install 2004.0 AMD64 version and no matter what I do every time I install it and get to the kernel configuration section under Character Devices > /Dev/Agpgart has --- next to it and cannot be selected as a module or otherwise. There is one choice beneath that for AGP on Intel chipsets but my mobo is a Via K8T800-based MSI Neo K8T FSR.

This is driving me insane since obviously without the AGPGART support in the kernel I can't get my ATI Radeon 9600XT vid card working properly and I'm going blind from looking at this 60Hz refresh rate. I hope someone can help out this noobie.

My system basics:

Athlon 64 3000+
MSI K8T Neo FSR mobo
Via K8T800 chipset
Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
ATI retail 9600XT video card

Thanks so much!

Grizzly
GrizzlyAdams
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2004 3:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks anyway, guys but I eventually solved the problem by switching to Mandrake 10.0 RC1 for AMD64 and I couldn't be happier. No, I didn't compile my own bootstrap but otoh every bit of hardware in my PC was configured perfectly by the installer INCLUDING my Radeon 9600XT with the ATI FGLXR drivers and my Audigy 2 ZS.

Aaaaah, 85Hz refresh at 1280x1024 again just like Windows and both KDE and Gnome preinstalled and working perfectly. My eyes feel better already.