View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
whiskeypriest
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2004 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hope it remains stable for you...as stated above, that one redundant ";;" resulted in some seriously undesirable behavior on my systems.

As for your phantom outages: I'm no expert, but I have observed that some systems are more resilient than others when it comes to minor line fluctuations. There have been several occasions where my archaic Celeron-VIA-P.O.S. was still running after a brief power drop, while my “modern” P4-SiS workstation had rebooted itself...
GTVincent
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2004 1:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

whiskeypriest wrote:
Hope it remains stable for you...as stated above, that one redundant ";;" resulted in some seriously undesirable behavior on my systems.

I think I found the actual cause of my problems. It turns out that the SATA drive containing the root of my installation is on it's way to bit-heaven :( It rest in pieces and shall be RMA'd in the very near future.

In the mean time I've set up another computer as my router, gave it the UPS and I haven't had a problem with that one.

Yet ;-)
t0mcat
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm having a different hang problem:

it happened two times, during rainy days, that, as usual where i live, there was a very quick lights-off-lights-on.
Theese two times it happened, the UPS (APC RS 800) did his work, but the pc crashed, the mouse freezed, no keys responding, and the keyboard leds blinking like an on-boot kernel panic.

the UPS works good with long blackouts, it correctly shutdown the system, but when occurs one of thoose nanosec energy failure, the PC hangs.