Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDevelop silliness
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TomorrowPlusX
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 May 2002
Posts: 168
Location: Washington DC, USA

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2002 4:39 am    Post subject: KDevelop silliness Reply with quote

I'm having a strangeness with KDevelop; trivial but annoying. When compiling, or configuring (etc) a project, the output in the "messages" pane has no newlines -- it all shows up on one wrapped line. The trouble with this, aside from poor readability, is that I no longer can just click on an error and jump right to it in the editor pane. This functionality worked fine on my old slackware system (with KDE 3), and to be honest, since I'm working on a rather large project (about 20,000 loc) this little tidbit is pretty helpful ;)

So, I'm guessing two possibilities:
1: Some sort of charset issue, though I've had no other problems at all like this with X, KDE or other KDE programs.
2: KDevelop complained when I ran its configuration program that it couldn't find gmake. It *did* find make (duh) so I presume it just uses it as default. Could this be an issue?

Any ideas? Has anybody had this trouble?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Malakin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Apr 2002
Posts: 1692
Location: Victoria BC Canada

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2002 4:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No problems with that here, using the latest versions of everything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dArkMaGE
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Apr 2002
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2002 6:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

as to the make/gmake thing i _think_ its because gmake is just gnu's make program. since you are running a linux system its just called make since all the various compile tools are gnu, however on other systems (such as the bsd's) they have their own versions of make (pmake, imake, etc.) and so gmake is used to specify gnu's own make program which is what kdevelop was designed to use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomorrowPlusX
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 May 2002
Posts: 168
Location: Washington DC, USA

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2002 1:40 pm    Post subject: Figured it out Reply with quote

I poked around kdevelop's forums and found that this isn't a unique problem: it seems to be fixable by downgrading to qt 3.03.

Now, since I'm really new to gentoo (about 1 week), what's the trick to emerge an older library version? In my old slack days, I'd have just manually found a copy of qt 3.03 unpacked it and installed it. But I'd liket o do this the Gentoo Way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum